top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

[ARTIST TO LOOK OUT FOR] TRAP PAT

I love artists who not only make great songs but also have visual imagery in their music videos to give a deeper meaning to their lyrics. It is a sign of great artistry to be able to paint a picture in the viewer’s head so they can create their own meanings and messages. Trap Pat does just that and is an artist to look out for. Just watch his incredible song, “Losing My Mind” (Prod. Young Taylor).


The highlight of the song happens in verse 2: Then I said damn He’s my biggest fan Looked at myself And I ain’t see a man I ain’t see a soul I ain’t feel a thing Never been a prince I was born a king But I am a peasant, cause that’s what I act like Life’s just a movie and I can’t get my act right Looking out the window Trying to see myself Looked in the mirror, saw everyone else I couldn’t even tell you what that feet like Cause I swear some days, I can’t even feel life Running from these demons Damn they almost got me I just keep it real, man I hope they copy Running from the devil I swear I need help And then I realized, I was running from myself”

This almost seems like a poem, rather than a rap which makes it that much more beautiful. The dichotomy of facing your demons just to realize it’s yourself is a complex idea that is executed perfectly. The music video emphasizes the creepiness and hallucinations in his mind that displays that he, in fact, is scared of his own mind. He seems to be delusional and lost in the crowd- not being able to even find himself. Then it shows himself running from a man who he stole from. He got into this horrible situation due to his own actions, and repetitive actions. The definition of insanity is repeating the same action and expecting a different result. If you lead a life of crime it will catch up to you, thus being the cause of your own problems.

Not only is Trap Pat is a rapper, he is also a visionary artist and a poet. He is a multifaceted artist that is bound to blow up. He doesn’t have a lot of music out yet but make sure to watch out for him.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundcloud Embed Example

Hoodie High Life yr, leggings ethical next level bitters authentic gluten-free Bushwick Marfa trust fund. Slow-carb 8-bit Helvetica...

20 Myths About Music

Marfa bitters kogi pop-up scenester, forage four loko. Migas biodiesel Odd Future Bushwick, Williamsburg retro cold-pressed plaid...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page