top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

Colin Farrell is Excited to Get Back to Filming The Batman

With Summer around the corner and businesses slowly opening up, it is safe to say that Hollywood is almost ready to get back on track, and no actor is more excited than Colin Farrell. In an interview with GMA News, Collin Farrell talked about his excitement of being part of a world he grew up with:

“It’s all exciting. To be a part of that universe and just there are certain words that are part of my internal lexicon: Gotham City, Penguin, Joker, Batman, Bruce Wayne, Harvey Dent, all these things. Tim Burton’s Batman was kind of my, no, I watched the Adam West TV show growing up actually as well. So Batman as a kid, yes very much, not in comic book form but the TV show I watched ardently when I was a child. And then in my teens, I saw Burton’s version and loved it.”

Colin Farrell was cast to play the penguin back in 2019, for the upcoming The Batman. The Batman is set to take place in the same universe as Man of Steel and Wonder Woman, as we see a younger cape crusader. Despite appearing before in Batman v Superman and Justice League (Played by Ben Affleck), this would be the first solo appearance since the Nolan Trilogy, a feat that Colin knows all too well.

“And then obviously I was a huge fan of what Chris Nolan did with that world and how he brought it back to life and gave it an immediacy and a contemporary significance. So just to be part of, again that folklore, that mythology, is again really cool.”

The Dark Knight Trilogy is hailed as one of the best stories of all time, with The Dark Knight being hailed as one of, if not the best superhero film of all time. Taking over a property with the legacy of Batman is a no small task. However, director Matt Reeves seems to be up for the task.

Matt Reeves was given rein of The Batman film after former writer and Director Ben Affleck dropped out due to personal issues. However, Affleck highly approved of Matt Reeves, taking over the movie after Reeves finished the Planet of the Apes Trilogy. With Reeves taking over, the original script, along with any early casting was changed, however, the original premise of the movie stayed the same, with The Batman telling the story of a younger Batman fighting crime in Gotham City. The first news of casting shock the internet community, as it was revealed that none other than Robert Patterson was cast to play the iconic role of Batman.


Warner Bro, DC

Following other casting rumor and confirmations, Colin Farrell was cast to play the Penguin. While no real details where given to how big the role is, Colin Farrell did promise some “Tasty Scenes,” he also shared how excited he is to go back to film:

“I had only started it and I can’t wait to get back. The creation of it, the aesthetic of the character, has been fun and I really am so excited to get back and explore it. And I haven’t got that much to do. I have a certain amount in the film. I am not all over it by any means. But there are a couple of some tasty scenes I have in it and my creation and I can’t wait to get back. Yeah, I totally feel like it is something that I have not had the opportunity to explore before. It feels original and fun. But I am only at the start of the journey so I can’t wait to get back and really get into it.”

Farrell seems to confirm that he is not meant to be a big player in the movie, but that doesn’t mean that his influence won’t be felt. The Penguin, outside of being one of the biggest mobsters in the city, he is also a business owner, in charge of his club. The Iceberg Lounge could appear, and it could be used to host villain meetings. There could even be a fight scene in the club itself. The last time that the Penguin appeared in the live-action movie was Danny DeVito’s iconic portrayal in Batman Return.

What do you guys think, are excited to see the Penguin make his long-awaited return to the big screen? The Batman, directed by Matt Reeves, is set to release October 1, 2021, starring Robert Pattinson, Zoe Kravitz, Colin Farrell, Andy Serkis, and Paul Dano.

0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page