top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

[ENTERTAINMENT] ‘A QUIET PLACE 2’ TO BE WRITTEN BY JOHN KRASINSKI

John Krasinski has come a long way from being Jim Halpert in “The Office.” Not only has he starred in the Amazon show “Jack Ryan” but he wrote, directed and starred in this year’s hit movie “A Quiet Place.”

The small budget horror film, which focused on a family living in silence as they hide from monsters who hunt sound, grossed $332.5 million worldwide, so a sequel seemed inevitable. Now it’s official, and Krasinski is one again penning the script.


Do we really need another “Quiet Place?” I thought the first movie was enjoyable, but as I thought about it more and more, the less it made sense. That’s fine, because I was entertained in the packed theater, but I’m not sure it’s destined to be a classic like some have assumed.

It also ended in a way that seemed to wrap everything up (Emily Blunt’s shotgun cocking was affective, if not a little corny). Since John Krasinski won’t be able to appear in the sequel (I’m not getting blamed for spoiling it for you. It’s been out for months; why haven’t you seen it yet?) he seems to have a good enough idea — or have been offered a big enough paycheck — to return and scribe a sequel.

In all honestly, I’ll probably see “A Quiet Place 2” but will I like it? I’m skeptical. A mostly silent horror movie makes for some good jump scares and the characters were developed well enough I suppose, but I felt as though it was far from the best horror movie of the year. “Hereditary” was much more uncomfortable and thought provoking, but that’s not getting a sequel.

If you’ve seen “Hereditary” a sequel wouldn’t really make sense, but does a sequel to “A Quiet Place” really make sense? Is it just going to be Emily Blunt and the kids killing the monsters, now that they know their weakness? I bet it’ll intersplice flashbacks of the monsters’ rise to power in between Blunt shooting them, which could potentially be interesting, or it could be like any other apocalyptic monster movie ever made.

Krasinski’s wife in real life, Emily Blunt, played his wife in “A Quiet Place.” Photo courtesy of nerdist.com


“A Quiet Place 2” is set to be released on May 15, 2020 but with no script, a delay in its release wouldn’t surprise me.

Are you excited for “A Quiet Place 2” or do you feel similarly to my thoughts on a sequel? Let me know in the comments below!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page