top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

Frank’s Friday Fabulous Five

As 26 soon to be 27 years old you would like that the music I gravitate towards would be the more modern music of today’s age. Well, you would be completely mistaken. I am the oldest 26 years old you will meet. I don’t listen to the, “New Age Rap,” I can’t stand the new auto-tune sound and the non-lyrical artists out there don’t excite me. Being Head of Artists Development, and working as a lead A&R at a music publishing company I have spent years tuning my ears to the generational change in music. Whether you consider it good or bad is subjective and a personal choice but you can’t deny the popularity and impact of it. I will be the first to tell you that I understand why these new artists and their music work and become popular but I don’t understand the music at all. Maybe it’s the time I grew up in, maybe it’s the music I listened to growing up, maybe it’s how my ears are tuned, maybe it’s because I am an old soul, maybe it’s because I am grumpy and stuck in my ways. Whatever the case maybe it music is music, it’s all subjective and who am I to tell anyone what they should like, who they should like, or why they should like it.

In today’s music industry I do feel as though there are many artists and songs that go unnoticed and get missed. Especially in the new streaming era of music, it is now incredibly difficult to not only listen to each and every song that comes out each week but to even listen to the songs from the artists you like the most. The algorithms on the digital streaming platforms don’t always work in your favor. They say depending on who you listen to will determine the songs and artists that show up on your playlists, on your front page, and in your feeds, but we all know that this isn’t the case. Most of the time the front pages are filled with the top artists from the top labels because just like any other, “ad space,” money rules all. This means that even if you don’t listen to a particular artist, for the simple fact that that artist is on a specific label and is popular they may get top billing on the front page of your app.

Where they may be no way to remedy that at the moment, this means that some of the songs you would like to listen to will either get missed completely or won’t be found unless someone else tells you about them. From personal experience, I can’t tell you how many times I scroll through my recently released playlist or the front page of my DSP apps and see songs and albums from artists I have never listened to and from genres I don’t ever play. At the same time the artists and songs I would want to listen to I miss until a few days, weeks, or months later when I hear about them from some in the office or from another podcast talking about them. by that time not only are they harder to find, but they may not have the same impact as they would have the first day they came out.

That is one of the reasons I wanted to start this blog post (other than my boss telling me I should do so). With this blog article, I hope to bring to light the songs and projects that everyone might not notice or listen to each week. Of course certain weeks there will be artists and projects on here that are the definition of mainstream and everyone in the world would have listened to at least some part of, but some weeks you may see an artist or song or project on here that you may have never heard of before. This article is not genre-specific and as you will see (even from this starting week) there will be songs from all genres depending on what is most intriguing from that week.

Keep in mind music is subjective and what I find or consider a good song may not be something you would ever consider listening to. This is from my personal perspective. I generate this list from the songs I listen to each Friday when the new music drops. There are around 40,000 songs that are released each day so of course, there are going to be times that I may miss a song or a project that may be incredible because it got lost in the fold of the damn near hundreds of songs I go through each week.

If I miss something by all means feel free to yell and scream at me in the comments or on social media. As anyone in the studio can tell you I am always up for an argument. If there is a song on here that you can’t stand and believe has no right to being named in any Top 5 list let me know and we can, “discuss,” it. I am always open to a debate.

There are no specific criteria for what goes into my Top 5 list every week. It all comes down to what type of feeling I get when listening to it. There is no checklist that each song or project has to hit “X” amount of boxes or it can’t be considered. If I like the record if I can sit through it without skipping the record if it sounds good and if I, “catch a vibe,” it will get considered to be on this list.

As I go along no artist can ask to be on this list, no artist can pay to be on this list and no artist has any influence on what is said if they do get on this list. As part of a music publishing company I do work with artists that release music, and to be fair and unbiased I will not feature any of those artists or songs in this list at any point. I am a self-proclaimed, “R&B Head,” but by no means will that skew my view of music or what appears on this list. As you will see from this week there is a lyrical rapper and a country singer featured.

With all of that being said, enjoy this weeks, “Frank’s Friday Fabulous Five,” songs of the week.

A low sultry voice singing R&B about a breakup, what more could you ask for. The one drawback of this album is that it will put you in your feelings and if that’s not the mind space you want to be in you will be upset. As someone who is still in the midst of missing their girlfriend listening to this at 9 pm on a Friday in bed alone probably wasn’t the best idea. That being said this is an outstanding album that I listened to front to back with no skips and thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience. And believe me, it is an experience. 

A 13 song (11 with two interludes) clocking in at 36 minutes was the perfect length. For me, the strongest part of the album was the second half. “Heartbreak Anniversary” is just as its name implies, “A heartbreak anthem.” “Missing you on your side of the bed / Still got your things here / They stare at me like souvenirs / Don’t want to let you out of my head” is not only a strong way to start a song but is something that anyone going through heartbreak can relate to. “You said that you loved me but that will last for never / It’s cold outside like when you walked out my life,” not only was this one of my favorite songs on the album this is one of the strongest songs on the album and pulls at the heartstrings with every line.

“I say I’m happy but I’m still stuck on us / Does your mind play this game too?” “Seeing you face to face I’m thinking about the days we used to be / but I can’t make it seem,” how can you not relate to these lyrics? “Like I want you,” is a strong following song too singing about the anniversary of your breakup.

Finishing the album with “Last Time,” featuring Snoh Aalegra, “Stuck On You,” and “All To Me,” This is what R&B is supposed to be. Songs with relatable lyrics, a great voice, actual singing, and the feelings of heartbreak on every song. Even with every song pulling at my heartstrings, having me on the verge of shedding tears, and wanting to call back my last girlfriend to say “Baby I miss you,” I can’t stop listening to this album. Of the songs and projects that came out this week, Giveon came out with an incredibly strong showing. And that is why his project, “When It’s All Said And Done…Take Time” lands at the number 1 spot for me in my Top 5 this week.

How can you not love Jhene Aiko? Her voice, her sound, her lyrics, everything about her, and her music is intoxicating. Starting an album with 7 seconds of reverse sounds that led directly into the first song of the album is a concept I don’t think I have seen, or heard, before.

“Sailing Soul(s),” is another strong effort from Jhene. A different sound than her last album but nonetheless still enjoyable top to bottom. 50 minutes and 15 songs (14 if you don’t count the intro) flew by, and before I knew it the album was over. 

This is a more “pop” sounding Jhene than I am used to hearing. Personally, the sound of her last album, the eclectic, downtempo, soulful sound she has cultivated is what I was expecting from this “surprise” (and I say that because I didn’t know it was coming out) album. However, by no means does that mean that I didn’t enjoy every second I was listening to her sing about relationships. 

For me her topics continue to be on point and in true fashion, she hit the nail on the head when it comes to putting the story together on every song. My favorite song on the album is, “popular,” a song that immediately reminded me of Lil Wayne’s, “Prom Queen,” but in a Jhene Aiko way. Listening to this song was like listening to a Taylor Swift song but with an R&B sound and attitude lyrics. “Mr popular where did they all go now / why are you so lonely?” Adding the 50 Cent, “Wanksta,” sample in the hook was a nice touch too. 

“Ok you back to talking that shit again / Questioning me bout where I been / I don’t even know why you here / You aint even supposed to be here.” “2 seconds,” one of the 4 bonus songs on the album is the second stand out to me. The bounce, the flow, the energy all lend themselves to a nice way to end the album. 

Throughout this album, Jhene brings you in and puts you through a story and a feeling like you would expect from a Jhene Aiko album. If you’re a fan of Jhene, a fan of this sound, or this type of music you will enjoy every song on this album. Another strong showing from Jhene lands her at the number 2 spot on my Top 5 of the week.

Tiera is an artist you may or may not be aware of. She is a country singer-songwriter that is taking Nashville and the country genre by storm. Her new single, “Not Your Girl,” is an amazing song. Not your typical country song, but a pop song with a southern country twang. Live instruments, the signature country guitar twang sets the right vibe for her to wow you with her voice. Not to mention the electric guitar solo after the second hook before the bridge brought me right in.

“All the rumors heard about you made me hesitate / So before I dive in let’s get a few things straight.” “I’m not your girl you must have me mistaken / Aint gonna switch it up for you / Lucky for you there’s plenty in the world that would do whatever just to fit the mold / But I can’t be what I’m not / So if you’re looking for that typical / I’m not your girl.” 

Tiera is telling you straight up, don’t get it twisted she is not here for the play play. She is who she is and if you don’t like it get to stepping. The perfect about this song is that she is saying this on top of a country beat with a country/pop voice. You would expect this from any female hip-hop act but this is not typically something you hear from a country singer, which makes it all the more awesome to sit and listen to this song.

I have been listening to and following Tiera for about a year now and she is only getting better. I will admit I am not the biggest and most admit county fan, but this is not your typical country song. As one of the last singles I was excited when I saw this come up under the Spotify recently released section, and because of where it was placed it was one of the last singles I listened to before starting in on the albums and projects that came out. However, they do say you save the best for last, and that is the case when it comes to singles this week. Immediately I was in the groove and Tiera didn’t disappoint. Making a strong case for the top spot, and for a minute she did have it for me, Tiera lands at number 3 for me this week in my Top 5 but hands down has the number one single of the week for me.

Brent Faiyaz is someone you need to be fully aware of if you’re not already. He is an incredibly gifted R&B singer and one of the reasons why I feel real R&B is coming back strong in a major way.

Seeing a title, “Show U Off,” and knowing it’s coming from an R&B singer as a listener you have an idea of what to expect, but in today’s music, you can never be too sure. A strong melodic guitar and the opening line “I know you feeling down bout how they treat you,” draws you in less than 30 seconds into the song.

The story of a beautiful girl struggling through is one we all know too well and that we have heard endlessly, but Brent succeeds in keeping you engaged. “Someone’s gotta take you out / Someone’s gotta show you off.”

“Who’s gonna call you baby?” A question that every man asks that one girl who they know should be in a relationship but has had some struggles in her past especially when it comes to finding a stable relationship. “Who’s gonna love you crazy?” Every girl needs that one guy that she can depend on and feel safe with and Brent is singing to all the girls that need that one guy.

This song draws you in that you don’t even notice that there are no drums for the first 2 and a half minutes of the song. The incredible guitar melody (which I am a sucker for) and Brent’s singing ability makes the perfect combination.

I guess I have to put the disclaimer that I am and have been a big Brent Faiyaz fan for a couple years and being a huge fan of R&B draws me into him and his music even more. That being said this is a great song and undoubtedly one of the best of the week. Another great single, but for me, it doesn’t quite surpass what Tiera did, so for me, Brent falls at the number 2 spot this week for singles and number 4 overall in my Top 5 of the week.

With a cover art picture of Tony Montana sitting at a table with a white block over his eyes to conceal his identity and the lyrics, “You anything like me those hand to hand sales made you / I’m one of those hustlers you have to tell thank you.” How else would you expect a Benny the Butcher and Harry Fraud track to start.

“Rappers in my genre want to be me still / I’m too far ahead it’s easy to feel like I’m cheating when I see these deals / Talking you live like this gonna make them hate you / This what fueled them to get off they ass / I made them greater / They should thank me n****.”

2 minutes and 30 seconds of Benny stating why he is great and why people should thank him is exactly what I would expect from anyone in the Griselda camp. A one-off single that anyone who likes Benny, likes Griselda, and who likes real rap and lyrics will enjoy this song. As a fan of all of these, this was one of the first songs I listened to, but as a self-proclaimed, “R&B head,” I couldn’t put this song above some of the other projects and singles that came out this week. Benny is defiantly in the Top 5 of this week but because of the incredibly strong showings from the R&B acts this week, Benny comes in at number 5 for me this week.

Sorry true hip-hop fans.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundcloud Embed Example

Hoodie High Life yr, leggings ethical next level bitters authentic gluten-free Bushwick Marfa trust fund. Slow-carb 8-bit Helvetica...

20 Myths About Music

Marfa bitters kogi pop-up scenester, forage four loko. Migas biodiesel Odd Future Bushwick, Williamsburg retro cold-pressed plaid...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page