top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

FRANK’S FRIDAY FABULOUS FIVE

This week was a little lighter on the project side. There were a lot of singles, but as always singles are hit and miss. Thankfully it only takes a few minutes to get through each single, and this week most of them checked in at under three minutes.

Tech n9ne – let lost happen single

ALLBLACK – TY4FWM album

Tee grizzley – built for whatever album

Russ – small talk single

Kennyhoopla / travis barker – Hollywood sucks single

Isaiah Rashad – lay wit ya single

Toosii – thank you for believing album

Conan gray – astronomy single

One republic – run single

Coldplay – higher power single

Yg mozzy blxst – perfect timing single

Don toliver – what you need single

J Cole – interlude single

There were a few singles that were better than the rest.

Saweetie – fast (motion) single

J Balvin – 7 de mayo single

Ozuna – tiempo single

LVRN – spotify singels

I’ll be the first to admit when I am wrong and in the case of Saweetie (at least this week), I was wrong. I haven’t been her biggest fan but she ran this track. I liked her flow, but for me who focuses on lyrics, her lyrics could’ve been a little stronger. Overall it was a good song, one that had me thinking twice about listening to her more. 

I really wish I understood Spanish. J Balvin and Ozuna released songs that sounded great and had a good vibe to them, but I have no idea what they were about. Something about tempo and the seventh day in May possibly, but I don’t know for sure.

LVRN is a collective that I love. They have a collection of so many great artists, and from listening to these two Spotify songs some artists I didn’t even know were affiliated with them. One freestyle and one song is all they gave us but I wasn’t mad. The freestyle was better than the song, but both are good if you’re a fan of this artist collective.

When it came to the top five this week I am going, to be honest, there wasn’t a lot that caught my ear enough to want to put them in the top five. This week was a struggle and because of that, this isn’t really a top five. 

There were projects that I loved and that stood above the rest of what was released but there weren’t five. After going through each initial new release I found only about three to four that I wanted to consider for this top list. However, to keep the integrity of this list and article I did some searching and came up with five that I thought were strong enough to round out the list for this week.

It is always nice to hear P!nk. You never know what you’re going to get. You could get a slow love song, you could up-tempo in your face, you could get rock crossover, and it all always sounds good. 

This is song is the rock crossover that is in your face. This is classic P!nk. We all saw and heard about the battle with Covid so it is incredibly nice to hear her sound strong and rerelease music. 

This comes in at number five strictly because it is just a single. When she follows this song up with her project there is no doubt that her album will be placed somewhere in the top five for that week. 

Strong vocals, strong message, classic P!nk, great song.

As it seems to be a growing theme for me each week, I don’t know much about Ashe or her music. I was looking for more music to listen to and saw this come across my Spotify algorithms and thought I’d give it a chance. I am glad I did.

Ashe has a great voice and her songs are just as powerful. Emotion, feeling, lyrics, stories, everything you would want (or at least that  I want) from an album and artist are here. 

I have been listening to more and more of Josh as I have done my deep dive into country music and songwriters. I am becoming more and more a fan of his music. I wasn’t sure what the album title 12 of 12 meant but I can only assume that it has to do with something along the lines of 12 great songs out of the 12 songs on the album.

At this point, if you have been following any of the previous articles you know that I am a sucker for a good love song. Josh gave me 12. Everything from the act of falling in love, to remembering the good times, to want her back, to come to grips with the relationship ending, to trying to convince me I didn’t love you, to the act we all know of that one bad night after the break up drinking (or drugging) to much to forget. All my favorite emotions are here. 

There is not one song on this album I don’t like. I only don’t like the fact that it brings up so many unwanted emotions for me, that I have to suppress all over again (not that that is a bad thing).

As much as it is going to hurt to continually listen to this album and I am going to do so because it is that good. I guess I better get the tissues ready.

Who doesn’t love a Bebe Rexha song? Then you throw in Ty Dolla $ign, Trevor Daniel, Doja Cat, Pink Sweat$, Rick Ross, Lunay, and Lil Uzi Vert and you have to ingredients for a fantastic album. That is exactly what you got here. 

She starts off with a strong message letting you know you don’t have to hurt her she is able to, “Break My Heart Myself.” I didn’t know that a dance album could be so love-centric, but boy am I glad it is. 

Unlike Josh Kerr this album doesn’t get me into my feelings as much, maybe its the music, maybe it’s her features, maybe it’s her melodies, whatever it is the songs are enough to give you that hurt, angry, love feels without making you cry for an entire album. 

I like almost every song on this album. Depending on your taste there could be a few skips on here for me there was one and a half, as I was not a fan of the Uzi verse when the single came out and still am not totally in love with it now on the album either. “Amore” is the only other one that didn’t catch me right away like the other songs on this album but as I listen to it more it is possible it could grow on me.

If you are unfamiliar with Fiji Blue I suggest you begin to get familiar. I have been listening to them on and off for about a year now, so when I saw they released new music I made sure that it was one of the last things I listened to because I always like to end on a good note. And as you can see I did.

The mix of R&B, chill, and house/dance music is the amazing and great combination that they present you with. As their Spotify bio says, “With a unique writing style that touches on the inner conflicts between waves of sadness and ecstasy, Fiji Blue takes each listener on a unique yet familiar journey.” I concur.

This EP is only six songs but the six songs are so good and fit so well together that when it ended and started over from the top again I didn’t even notice. I damn near listened to the whole EP two times fully through without noticing or wanting to turn it off.

Every song had me jamming. Every song took me on the journey they wanted and no song was a skip. No song was misplaced. No song seemed like it didn’t fit like they were trying to shoehorn a single in the project. Cohesiveness at its finest. 

All I can say is…

GO CHECK OUT THIS ALBUM!!!!!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundcloud Embed Example

Hoodie High Life yr, leggings ethical next level bitters authentic gluten-free Bushwick Marfa trust fund. Slow-carb 8-bit Helvetica...

20 Myths About Music

Marfa bitters kogi pop-up scenester, forage four loko. Migas biodiesel Odd Future Bushwick, Williamsburg retro cold-pressed plaid...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page