top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

FRANK’S FRIDAY FABULOUS FIVE – A TRIBUTE TO EARL SIMMONS

REST IN PEACE, REST ON POWER

It’s been a difficult week in music. A legend has left us and passed on to a better place. A more peaceful place where he and his mind can finally be at rest. Earl Simmons A.K.A. DMX passed away at age 50. My prayers are with him, his family, and loved ones, as we watched them morn this week. 

It almost doesn’t feel right to write this article this week because such a huge presence in not only Hip-Hop but music and culture has moved on. His music, personality, and spirit touched and moved so many people, that it makes it hard to shed light on anything but him. He deserves an entire article to himself as a tribute to him and his artistry. 

However, there was a lot music that came out that I enjoyed so here is what I am going to do…

I am going to briefly highlight the music that came out simply by providing a list of the songs I enjoyed the most and let you be the judge this week of what you think the Top 5 should be. The rest of the article I am going to devote to DMX and his legacy.

In no particular order here are the songs that would’ve have been touched on this week

I now leave it up to you to listen and decide for yourself what you enjoy. I will leave you simply with this…

I am still listening to Elhae’s album all the way through. Belly and Benny are great. T Majid Jordan is a summer vibe. Sonder and Jorja are amazing. Naija and Ari give you the girl’s version of Usher and R. Kelly’s, “Same Girl.” Raheem brings real R&B back. J Balvin and Khalid make a great song, even though until Khalid comes on I have no idea what is being said. SZA makes her return. Conway and Jae show you true rap at its finest. 

THE LEGENDARY DMX… What more do you have to say. The iconic growl, the iconic raspy voice, the iconic aggression, the iconic emotion, and under it all the incredible power of faith. 

As everyone learned (unless you already knew his story) from the Ruff Ryders documentary, he had a hard upbringing. Moved around a lot, sent to different places as a child, and was just trying to find love. His battle with drugs and mental health is widely documented and in his later life seemed like he was finally overcoming those battles. 

Any Hip-Hop fan that grew up or grew in the culture through the 2000s undoubtedly has some connection to DMX. Whether through the music that you loved, through his story, or a connection with his faith, every person that personally knew or knew of him from a distance was touched by him in some way, shape, or fashion. 

For me, I was in my formative years when he was the superstar we know him to be in music. Because of this, he wasn’t really one of the artists I was allowed to listen to. I was around 10 when he reached stardom and you can imagine how my parents felt about his music. So even as I was growing into learning about and listening to my first Hip-Hop records, he defiantly wasn’t on that list for me. 

Probably the first song I heard from DMX was an edited version of, “Where the hood at,” which you can imagine is a completely different song than what the explicit version of the song is. I know I heard it in a movie but I can’t remember which one. Then I proceeded to hear it all across the radio and TV and that was my introduction to DMX. 

From there of course I heard, “X gon’ give it to ya,” “Ruff Ryders’ Anthem,” “Go To Sleep,” and many others along my DMX journey. Then seeing him in, “Belly,” by happenstance because I stumbled upon this movie on BET one day was another notch in me diving deeper into his catalog. 

Granted as we are from completely different cloths some of his music I wasn’t privy to or listened to because I honestly didn’t get everything of what he was saying and sometimes, depending on my state, I wasn’t into his signature aggression. I was more a person that followed his mental health and life transformation story. 

Watching him battle through depression and drug abuse was inspiring to him as I battled through the same things, albeit not to the same extent that he did. His pain was something I felt, and the records that were showcasing this was what I gravitated to,  but again this is not always something you want to listen to when you’re in that state of mind especially when you’re trying to get away from your aggression. 

Nonetheless, he is one of those artists that I could turn to in that mind state and an artist that was relatable that could identify with the pain and make things seem a little brighter if even for a moment while the music was on. 

I think it was fitting that on this day where his passing was announced that “A Dog’s Prayers,” was released that only has him speaking 4 prayers each around 2 minutes long. Listening to the passion he speaks these prayers with no music, very minimal efx and full emotion is jaw-dropping and inspiring and I have listened to these prayers about 4 times in the last few days feeling every word he is saying. 

Going back through his music over the last week, specifically to the songs where he is praying, asking for help, or showing his emotions has stuck me in a way I didn’t think it would. Yes, I have a deep connection, and connection when it comes to the advocacy of mental health, but listening to him speak with such passion and emotion again in songs  I haven’t listen to in years brought me to tears. Not because he isn’t here anymore, but because of the stories he is telling and the feelings that are brought up in me from personal experience. 

Mental health is something that needs to be addressed more publicly, especially when it comes to artists and the entertainment industry. The stigma that still surrounds mental health is atrocious and asking for help needs to stop being looked at as weak. One of the strongest things you can do is realize there is a problem and ask someone for help. It took me years to come to this realization and to this day after getting help for the last 5 years I am glad I did. If we speak out about this more and start opening our eyes to the signs that someone close to us needs that assistance or is going down a bad path, we as their friends, family or close whatever need to speak up. YOU COULD BE SAVING A LIFE!

DMX suffered greatly and as well all saw was in constant mental pain. As someone who has been there and thought that leaving this world was the only way to finally be at peace and stop the never-ending pain, I can wholeheartedly say that DMX is finally at peace and no longer in pain. While it is never good to see someone you care about and/or had admiration for pass away, you can find solace in the fact that he is peacefully at rest, pain-free, and now being watched over and taken care of by the highest power. 

REST IN PEACE, REST IN POWER EARL SIMMONS, DMX, YOU WILL BE SURLY MISSED.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundcloud Embed Example

Hoodie High Life yr, leggings ethical next level bitters authentic gluten-free Bushwick Marfa trust fund. Slow-carb 8-bit Helvetica...

20 Myths About Music

Marfa bitters kogi pop-up scenester, forage four loko. Migas biodiesel Odd Future Bushwick, Williamsburg retro cold-pressed plaid...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page