top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

FRIDAY MUSIC ROUND UP

This is a new series I will be conducting every Friday/Saturday to give brief overview of some of the major artist release of each week. On Fridays I will do an article that showcases the major artists that have released music, whether it be full albums, EPs, mixtapes, singles and so forth. On Saturdays, (or Sundays depending on the depth of each project) I will be doing full reviews for the full length projects that have been released. Eps will be featured in the Friday editions of the articles and a full review of a four song EP isn’t entirely necessary.

This week I will be covering

6lack – 6pc Hot EP

Megan Thee Stallion – Girls in the Hood

Jack Harlow feat Tory Lanez, DaBabby, Lil Wayne – Whats Poppin Remix

City Girls – City On Lock

If you are a fan of 6lack you will enjoy this quick six song EP. “ATL Freestyle,” and “Float,” have been released prior to this EP, and the other four songs fit right into that sound. A strong showing from the R&B artists showing that even when he decides to drop a short EP he can captivate listeners and have songs with stories. “Elephant in the room,” is a great story that every artists, creative, entrepreneur, or individual in the entertainment industry can relate to. Trying to balance the life and aspirations you have for yourself, while trying to maintain a relationship is a struggle. Trying to address the issue of trying to obtain my goals, stating that I will go chase my dreams before staying home with you, even if that may not be right to you or right for us, is a reality that we have to face. 6lack makes an EP of chill out music. This is the perfect album for sitting back and smoking, chilling outside at night, to state the ultimate cliche in todays music, he creates a vibe. As a fan of 6lack I enjoyed this EP, and in comparison to some of the other music that was released today, and recently this will be something I will go back to.

Megan Thee Stallion follows up her album with this single release, “Girls in the Hood.” (yes I know she released a remix to, “Hot Girls Summer,” with Beyonce a few weeks ago) This single is right on brand with her bad bitch, don’t give a fuck attitude. (and I mean that in an admiring, adoring way) Meg definitely can rap, but as a man this is not a single I will be going back too, however, the female fans of hers will absolutely love this song. By no means am I say this is a bad song, this song is a strong showing and effort from her, and will defiantly be on radio stations, and would be a great club song if any of us were allowed outside and/or allowed in clubs. “I’m a hot girl, I do hot shit… I don’t text quick, cause I aint thirsty/these bitches mad mad, they wanna hurt me.” Her hook is going to be the captions of girls all summer, and will be the sound bite played in every Instagram and TikTok video for the rest of the summer. Exactly what you would expect from a Meg single is what you got. A great song, a catchy hook, a tag line and caption waiting to happen, a radio single and outside club smash, and a female summer anthem.

This is a major remix for a relatively new artist. To have you smash single get a remix with one of these artists would be a great feat. To have all three of these phenomenal artists all hop on one song is outstanding. Not knowing a whole lot about Jack Harlow as an artist, he surprised me with his ability to hold is own on this remix. Tory Lanez, DaBaby and Lil Wayne all did exactly what you would think and expect from these top tier artists. Tory Lanez got back to his rapping ways, DaBaby was DaBabying, and Lil Wayne showed that he still got it. (not saying that I ever though he lost it but we all know there are certain times when Wayne has a down moment on a track) As I said not knowing what to expect going in, this song throughly surprised me. Personally, this is not a song I will go back to a whole lot after this initial listen (or maybe past this weekend) but it is a good song, a strong showing from all the artists, and fans of any of these artists will be impressed and listening to this song on repeat for a while. A good start to the summer for Jack Harlow.

Let me start this off saying that I will do a further, in depth review of this whole album later this week end. With that being said this is exactly what you would expect a City Girls album to be. As a man I will not be going back to this album, because it is simply not made for me and the music is not for me. This is a good album, the beats are good, the sequencing is good and their rapping is great. A flaw I see with this album is the entire album they speak about the same thing on every song. Each song is them speaking on how good their pussy is, how they don’t fuck with or want a broke boy, how they are getting money, J.T. being released from jail, and how they are going to make any man that they mess with or that wants to smash give them an expensive item. Personally, I have not listen to a bunch of City Girl music because of the nature of the topics of their songs being in this lane (as these topics are not something I in particular would like to listen to as a man) but they do a fantastic job of rapping, constructing songs and putting together a good album. Be ready, almost every song on the album has a hook and/or lines in one or multiple verses that every girl is getting ready to use as a hashtag and in their captions. We will be hearing multiple songs from this album played all summer, and on Instagram and TikTok, we will be watching girls dance, sing along and posting captions and hashtags from this entire album. As a not huge fan of the City Girls I was impressed by the rapping on this album, and I see how they have garnered such a following. I just wish they would change up the topics.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundcloud Embed Example

Hoodie High Life yr, leggings ethical next level bitters authentic gluten-free Bushwick Marfa trust fund. Slow-carb 8-bit Helvetica...

20 Myths About Music

Marfa bitters kogi pop-up scenester, forage four loko. Migas biodiesel Odd Future Bushwick, Williamsburg retro cold-pressed plaid...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page