top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

HAILEE STEINFELD’S “LET ME GO” IS TRASH

“Let Me Go” by Hailee Steinfeld and Alesso featuring Florida Georgia Line is a song that has been blowing up over the past few weeks. I’ve been hearing it on a lot of local radio stations and it has spent 22 weeks on the Billboard chart and it continues to climb.

Listen to the song here:


The first part that really annoys me about this song is that is it generic. Obviously. Not only is it a generic pop song, the lyrics are so horrible that I can’t even sing along with it.

She sings,

“I’ve been hoping somebody loves you in the ways I couldn’t Somebody’s taking care of all of the mess I’ve made Someone you don’t have to change I’ve been hoping someone will love you, let me go”

I know there is a lot of breakup songs out there but this one is just selfish.

I have re-written what the lyrics ACTUALLY mean here:

“I’ve been thinking of you because I’m bored with my life! Sorry for traumatizing you and making you not believe in love Wish you could have done that to me so I wouldn’t have felt so bad And I’m probably only singing this because the karma I have been getting from it is really starting to become a b*tch I hope someone loves you because I led you on and I am not going to accept the fact that I also had a part in the reason we fell off but I’m just going to act like the bigger person and write a song about it for pity from other people!”

You can’t break up with someone and then go to tell people that you hope someone loves them. That was your job!? Then at the end of this chorus where she claims she feels bad about the situation she has the nerve to put in the lyric, “let me go.”

The whole song is condescending and if you actually find yourself singing along to it maybe you should readjust how you look at yourself and figure out that once you hurt someone, they owe you nothing. Also, Hailee Steinfeld, I’m pretty sure the person who you wrote this about doesn’t wish you the best. You can’t just “make a mess” and then become the victim? Ridiculous but hilarious.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundcloud Embed Example

Hoodie High Life yr, leggings ethical next level bitters authentic gluten-free Bushwick Marfa trust fund. Slow-carb 8-bit Helvetica...

20 Myths About Music

Marfa bitters kogi pop-up scenester, forage four loko. Migas biodiesel Odd Future Bushwick, Williamsburg retro cold-pressed plaid...

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page