top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

[HIDDEN GEMS] POP PUNK IS STILL GOING STRONG

I used to be an extreme fan of pop punk when I was in high school. I spent all my time going to shows and spent all my money at Hot Topic. I was a huge fan of the scene, that I let it take over my life. Just kidding, it wasn’t that deep, but I did spend all my time listening to these bands like Citizen, The Wonder Years, The Story of Far and many other artists that scream sung lyrics about the pains of growing up and heartbreak, along with other darker themes. The joy of this music is that it is not afraid to get vulnerable and the “angst” make for some really great music.

I haven’t been listening to the genre for quite some time now just simply because I grew out of the music and bands weren’t really releasing anything after 2015. I was surprised when I went on Spotify radio to find out that all my favorite bands were actually releasing music- I just wasn’t keeping up with them.

Also, I noticed that the bands have grown up too. They are no longer being extremely whiny and are focusing their lyrics more on the distaste in themselves, instead of primarily keeping to the theme of someone who broke their heart.

Here is some of the music I found when I was taking a trip down memory lane:

“Sister Cities” by The Wonder Years:


I am amazed by the talent from The Wonder Years. After their 2015 release, No Closer to Heaven I thought that was going to be the end for them. Their talent is unstoppable.

Citizen – “In the Middle of It All:”


Sorority Noise – “A Portrait Of:”


And here are some other songs I found that are a little outdated but still so good:

Sorority Noise – “Blonde Hair, Black Lungs:”


Wavves – “My Head Hurts:”


Bye guys, I’m going to go grab my eyeliner and buy a ticket to go these their shows.

Long live punk pop!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundcloud Embed Example

Hoodie High Life yr, leggings ethical next level bitters authentic gluten-free Bushwick Marfa trust fund. Slow-carb 8-bit Helvetica...

20 Myths About Music

Marfa bitters kogi pop-up scenester, forage four loko. Migas biodiesel Odd Future Bushwick, Williamsburg retro cold-pressed plaid...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page