top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

[INVASION OF PRIVACY] CARDI B PROMOTED THE WORST SONGS ON HER ALBUM

Today at 12 am Cardi B dropped her debut album Invasion of Privacy and it made everyone wonder why she promoted the absolute worst songs on her album. She released “Be Careful” which featured her trying to sing on the chorus which was a complete failure. Then she promoted “Drip” featuring the Migos and it was one of the worst songs I have ever heard.

But Invasion of Privacy slaps you in the face with her true talent. She must have only promoted the worst songs on the album to get bad publicity, or she is extremely misguided. The album starts off with “Get Up 10” which should have been promoted as a single. The song shows the story of her struggle and is packed with great lines like, “Stunt on these bitches out of mothafuckin’ spite/Ain’t no runnin’ up on me, went from nothin’ to glory/I ain’t tellin’ ya to do it, I’m just tellin’ my story.” It’s a fantastic start to the album. This is truly my favorite song from the album.

Listen to the best track on the album here:


“Bickenhead” is a great track that shows a different side to her but works perfectly. The beat fits nicely with the song and is definitely a song one can dance to. This is also a highlight track that centers around “nasty ass b*tches” that everyone can relate to.

“Best Life” features Chance the Rapper, which seems like an awkward combination but gives the album a more chill feel that marks the shift in the album. I think it is kind of corny to put internet slang in a song, by saying “L and Ms” but its still very good. As she says, “I’m my own competition, I’m competin’ with myself.” I could really see this song on the radio as a great summer jam.

“I Like It” is a great remix of the classic song, it could be compared to Nicki Minaj’s “Anaconda.” She has great verses in this song, which truly showcases her talent and versatility that we didn’t even know she had this early in her career. I would say that the feature by Bad Bunny doesn’t quite fit the feel of the song, but the addition of Spanish helps this song get to the next level.

“Ring” featuring Kehlani is not the best track but Kehlani really shines. It’s fun as hell. The track after is entitled, “Money Bag” where she flaunts all her money she has now. It’s a strong track and the chorus really brings it all together. I didn’t think she could write a good chorus since the one on, “Be Careful” was painful to listen to. The next track is the famous “Bartier Cardi.” It then transitions to “She Bad” featuring YG. The track reminds me of Big Sean’s “Dance A$$.” The next track, “Thru Your Phone” featuring Ali Tamposi is an another diss track for her fiance Offset- damn she really needs to break up with him? The track also includes some of the best lyrics on the album,

“All I can see is you and her in different scenarios Beyoncé on my stereo, “Resentment” on repeat I’ma make a bowl of cereal with a teaspoon of bleach Serve it to you like, “Here you go, nigga, bon appétit” Look did you give it to her raw? You love her or nah? You risk your whole home for a hoe from the bar? You really want them hoes? You can have them bitches You don’t even cheat with no badder bitches This shit is eatin’ me, you sleepin’ peacefully Gettin’ more mad at you, thinkin’ ’bout stabbing you Don’t even know that you this close to dyin’ You gon’ wake up like, “Why you got an attitude?”

The album then ends with “I Do” featuring the one and only SZA. The track centers around being an independent woman who doesn’t need a man. SZA adds a great chorus that emits swag. Overall the album can be summed up with the lyrics from this song, “My little 15 minutes lasted long as hell, huh?”

Overall Cardi B purposely promoted the worst songs on the album to create bad buzz around her name. She really killed us all with this album and it has so many stand-out tracks that I can predict are going to be the song of the summer. Cardi B is here to stay even though she might not have the best judgment when it comes to picking singles.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundcloud Embed Example

Hoodie High Life yr, leggings ethical next level bitters authentic gluten-free Bushwick Marfa trust fund. Slow-carb 8-bit Helvetica...

20 Myths About Music

Marfa bitters kogi pop-up scenester, forage four loko. Migas biodiesel Odd Future Bushwick, Williamsburg retro cold-pressed plaid...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page