top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

#KANYEMADNESS

I’m sure you know by now that March Madness has begun and I bet you filled out at least one bracket. But a friend of mine sent me a tweet the other day with a different bracket that quickly blew up. A Kanye Bracket. Carrington Harrison, a sports radio host, gathered a group of friends and fellow Kanye West fans and created a fully seeded, 64 song tournament of what they decided were the best ‘Ye songs of all time and I couldn’t help but take a break from sports and fill one out. The bracket was divided into four sections, “Donda,” “North West,” “Chicago,” and “Saint”. The seedings alone are enough for debate but I played along and pushed through some brutal early matchups (“All Falls Down” v. “Addiction” and “Power v. “Father Stretch My Hands PT. 1” in the first round to name a few). I made all my picks based on my own personal taste with some weight being put on the songs’ mass popularity. I debated over each song like my life depended on it, listening to them as I went. I’ve always been a huge Kanye fan with an admitted sweet spot for his older stuff but my favorite thing about his music is that every album has a different sound and purpose. He always pushes the genre in new directions, taking stuff that no one is doing and making it dope. And that only makes it harder to stack his hits up next to each other. I finally settled on a Final Four of “Flashing Lights” against “All Of The Lights” and “Say You Will” facing “Gorgeous”. Definitely the toughest choices of all. I have “Flashing Lights” beating “All Of The Lights” and then beating “Gorgeous” as well to win the whole thing. Although honestly I would have picked “All Of The Lights” over “Gorgeous” if the seeding had shook out differently. “Flashing Lights” was a lock to win from the beginning, that has been and always will be my favorite Kanye track. Regardless it was a lot of fun and definitely worth wasting most of my afternoon. So if you’re a big Kanye fan like myself or if you just have nothing to do tonight fill out a bracket. You can click the original tweet below to see the bracket and see where yours stacks up against others submitted earlier. Enjoy, and in Yeezus’ name, amen.

Here’s our official #KanyeMadnessBracket pic.twitter.com/mSVf5Fognv — Carrington Harrison (@cdotharrison) March 11, 2018

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundcloud Embed Example

Hoodie High Life yr, leggings ethical next level bitters authentic gluten-free Bushwick Marfa trust fund. Slow-carb 8-bit Helvetica...

20 Myths About Music

Marfa bitters kogi pop-up scenester, forage four loko. Migas biodiesel Odd Future Bushwick, Williamsburg retro cold-pressed plaid...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page