top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

[LIL UZI VERT NEW MUSIC] I CAN’T GET OVER IT

Lil Uzi Vert released a new single from his album Luv Is Rage 2 and it certainly doesn’t disappoint. On October 10th he released “The Way Life Goes” on Youtube and it is starting to climb the charts.

Check out the song here:


Sources say that he is singing about his ex-girlfriend Brittany Byrd. If I was her I would take him back after this song. Who wouldn’t want to date Lil Uzi Vert? I’m honestly in love with him. 

He sings,

“I know it hurts sometimes but you’ll get over itYou’ll find another life to liveI swear that you’ll get over itI know you’re sad and tiredYou’ve got nothing left to giveYou’ll find another life to liveI know that you’ll get over it”

This song is different from the typical breakup song. Instead of being sad and angry about the situation he takes comfort in the closure. One can really tell the pain he has gone through, but it is combined with a melancholy acceptance. The positivity of looking towards the future is what is missing from music these days. One can complain and complain non stop about their ex-girlfriend, but the acknowledgment that it is not a possibility anymore is what gives this song an edge. Lil Uzi Vert has the talent to create dance music with sad lyrics, and this is why I keep coming back to his music. In his hit single, “XO TOUR Llif3” he sings, “Baby, I am not afraid to die, Push me to the edge, All my friends are dead, Push me to the edge, All my friends are dead, Push me to the edge, All my friends are dead, Push me to the edge” and it seems like this song follows the same theme.

Lil Uzi Vert also released a remix featuring Nicki Minaj on December 4th, complete with a music video.

Watch the Music Video here:


I personally don’t think that the Nicki verse really added to the song. It doesn’t make sense to have Nicki talking about her “real good coochie in the middle of the song. The song really revolves around letting go of someone and the verse just seems thrown in. Although I thought that it shouldn’t have been added I did like her call back verse to one of her first songs, “Itty Bitty Piggy.” I also liked the line “If you fucked it up with Nicki, You feel pretty fucking shitty.” That being said, I have no idea why she would rap about pita bread on the last line. Anyways, Nicki gives us eye candy in the video but why does she never show up to the video shoots? 

The visuals in this video are simple but they say a lot. Lil Uzi Vert is tied to a tree with rope sitting next to his grave, unable to die but also unable to get up and leave. He seems like he is stuck in time. Also, the rope looks like it could be easily undone, which shows his lack of energy. He is unaffected by the pitbull that is trying to attack him. He is awaiting his funeral but no one shows up.

The artistry that Uzi puts in this song shows that he is an artist here to stay. If he keeps releasing striking material like this he definitely won’t be subbed at next year’s Grammys.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundcloud Embed Example

Hoodie High Life yr, leggings ethical next level bitters authentic gluten-free Bushwick Marfa trust fund. Slow-carb 8-bit Helvetica...

20 Myths About Music

Marfa bitters kogi pop-up scenester, forage four loko. Migas biodiesel Odd Future Bushwick, Williamsburg retro cold-pressed plaid...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page