top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

LIL UZI VERT- THE NEW BLINK 182???

ASAP Ferg sat down with GQ for an interview about working on his next project, longevity, and the current state of pop music among other subjects. He was asked what he thought about the current state of pop music, which to that he responded, “When I think about pop music, I think about hip-hop music.” He then told GQ this:

This was a statement that was somewhat true. Hip-hop and rap are becoming the new rock stars of this generation. But I wouldn’t say that Lil Uzi Vert is the new Blink 182. He is saying that rappers are placed in a position of popularity that they haven’t exactly seen before, but I would label Lil Uzi Vert as something different. He definitely has some punk influences, and a septum ring to match his style but his rapping style isn’t exactly punk. He actually reminds me of Yung Thug and popular groups like The Migos. Blink 182’s songs usually revolve around growing up, losing love and having fun in your youth. In Lil Uzi Vert’s song, “XO Tour Llif3” he sings, “Push me to the edge, All my friends are dead” hit a little harder than Blink 182’s lyrics. If we are comparing genres, I would say that he leans more towards A Day To Remember, due to the visuals in the music videos, and also a constant theme of being displeased with life. For example in their song “The Downfall of Us All” they sing, “I sold my soul to the open road I’ll live my life alone.”

ASAP probably didn’t mean to have a lot of weight to his statement when he said it, but I can get very defensive about Blink 182. So what do you think? Is Lil Uzi Vert the new Blink 182 or is ASAP Ferg way off?

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundcloud Embed Example

Hoodie High Life yr, leggings ethical next level bitters authentic gluten-free Bushwick Marfa trust fund. Slow-carb 8-bit Helvetica...

20 Myths About Music

Marfa bitters kogi pop-up scenester, forage four loko. Migas biodiesel Odd Future Bushwick, Williamsburg retro cold-pressed plaid...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page