top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

{MUSIC] DRIP HARDER REVIEW

The drip is strong with this duo. The new generation of rappers coming out of Atl is another example of why they have been running the game this long. Lil Baby and Gunna alone are some heat but together, there’ll probably the best rap  duo out and their #1 album proves the public agrees. Laced with 13 tracks and features from Lil Durk, Nav, Young Thug, and Drake, this album has greatness written all over it especially with Turbo executive producing it and Tay Keith leaving his mark also. The Atl pioneers really put on for their city with this one.

This album starts off exactly how you expect with Gunna and Baby flexing their drip with Nav and Lil Durk on ” Off White Vlone”. This soft beat let everybody flow and flex easily with Gunna starting it off ” You can tell that’s Chanel by the lace, You can  tell its bale by the weight” then Durk follows that up with “I spend big bags on Amiris, none of my hoes wear Uggs” so thanks Durk now all of us guys gotta step our game up for christmas. With Baby and Nav matching their vibes respectively” Went to magic last week, we prolly fucked up 40 bands/ Bitch im the shit hoe, fuck your man” Nav follows that up ” Spent six hundred eatin’ lunch/ Got tired of Honey Buns” evidently the bag their talking I can’t fathom yet.

Gunna and Baby flow well between most tracks but there are a few solo tracks that lets them shine. Lil Baby and Quay are definitely do for a joint project soon. With their track “Deep End” Baby shows why he really runs the game. The flow on this is amazing to me because sometimes he’s not always on beat. He starts this off by letting us know it’s get it how you can ” If its pressure, let me know/ So we can pull up with them Glocks/ If I never sell a record, I’m gon’ make it on the block” Lets hope it never comes to that Lil Baby. Baby also talks riding for his homies and trying to make everybody a boss “I put the food on the table, who’s hungry? I try to feed you/ Treat all my niggas like bosses” its rare nowadays for people to put others on and make sure there homies are straight. Mr. Drip god Gunna lets us know on his solo track ” Style Stealer” he knows people are watching and trying to steal his drip”They tryna steal your style dawg/ I’m a big dripper, you a sound stealer” Why can’t people just get their own wave without copying people

Gunna and Lil Baby lets us know on ” I Am” nothing was easy for them coming up in the game. Lil Baby starts off ” I anit never had shit, I gotta act up/ If I ever go broke, we maskin’ up” while also rapping the hook on the track ” Life anit sweet, anit no lay-ups/ I stay down, and I came up”, with Gunna telling us he got his brothers back and not giving this life up” My bro took a loss and I picked him up/ we stay together, they anit rich as us” nothing is going to stop them from reaching the top and their old life will always be the fill to the fire.

Every album no matter who it’s from has that one emotional track. Lil Baby takes the credit for putting everybody in their feelings toward the end of the album “Close Friends” (Tear drop emoji) I hope this about Jayda Amour. Lil Baby raps ” We started off as close friends/ Somehow,  you turned into my girlfriend” perfect start to any relationship. He continued with ” I think I loved you’ fore I knew you/ Play my cards right, I wont lose you” But as most people know he cheated. But Baby knows how to write apology ” I’m sorry for what I did to you/I know I shouldnt have never left, but everything I did for us” its kinda weak but I guess she accepted it because she’s having his baby.

The album closes with Drake, Baby, Gunna, and Tay Keith snapping on ” Never Recover” which is the perfect track to end it. Drake does what Drake does talking his shit and throwing subs ” If I don’t fuck with him, then I can’t rap with him/ I wanna be there when somebody catches him. You told a story like shorty was feelin’ you/ She told a story like she split the bill with you” shessh whoever Drake is trying to expose, I feel bad because 6God on your ass. Gunna talks his drip talk as usually while letting us know you can’t compete ” Anit no comparin’ cause we number one/ Dont got what I got’ cause I shop in Milan/ Cuban link look like a box of crayons” I have to see this mans closet one day. Lil Baby ends it off like he should “Runnin’ this shit, only been out two summer/ seem like everything I get on the number one” this cockiness is exactly why everybody love all three of these rappers together.

QC and YSL record labels did exactly what they were suppose to do and did it well by capitalizing on Baby and Gunna hype train know anything they drop will go #1. This album is a vibe from start to finish, right now Lil Baby and Gunna can’t do no wrong in the public eye.  This definitely the best joint album of the past year and half but it should be up there for AOTY  without question. Atl should be very proud of them as they put on for their city. Gunna and Baby are going to run the game for the next 10 years.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundcloud Embed Example

Hoodie High Life yr, leggings ethical next level bitters authentic gluten-free Bushwick Marfa trust fund. Slow-carb 8-bit Helvetica...

20 Myths About Music

Marfa bitters kogi pop-up scenester, forage four loko. Migas biodiesel Odd Future Bushwick, Williamsburg retro cold-pressed plaid...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page