top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

[MUSIC] One on One with Baby Phace

With the Best of Essex 10 on the way, we had to chop it up with finalist from last event Baby Phace…

Baby Phace was definitely an act to remember he lit the stage up with his energy which was out of this world.  Being  a  22 year old artist from West Orange, NJ, Baby Phace struggles with life and himself and is trying to share his truths and messages through his music. We had the chance to ask Baby Phace some questions based on his career and Best of Essex experience.

Where did you first hear of Best Of Essex?

A: On Instagram

Where are you from?

A: West Orange

What or who inspired you to first rap?

A: I would say poetry inspired me to rap. Rap is just more enjoyable poetry, not to say poetry is not fun. Also Drake & J. Cole were some of my favorite artist around the time I started rapping so they were huge inspiration for me with the pen.

When do you know that this is your calling?

A: I didn’t really know for a while. I’ve been rapping on and off for a LONG time. I just got back into it a year ago and I had the means to actually do this. But it wasn’t till October, when I made Run (one of my earlier songs) I was bumping it by myself & something just clicked & I knew this is what I’m made for.

Do you have a plan B? If yes, tell us what and why, If no, tell us why.

A: I don’t have one. I spent my whole life struggling to figure out what I wanted to do. Why I wanted to do it, who I wanted to do it for. Until I found rap and it was the first time I did something for myself. It’s such a beautiful feeling knowing what I want & not having single bit of doubt. I don’t see myself doing so I don’t have a plan b although it would be smart and logical.

How did you prepare for the performance if any at all?

A: I usually just lock in. Listen to the songs I’m performing on repeat. And just get into my zone. Once I’m in that zone performing is easy.

What have you done so far in your career that you are most proud of?

A: A lot of things have been coming & I see more coming in my future. It’s been a long and eventful year of doing music. But honestly I’m just proud of the fact that I have a career. I’m proud of my growth in all aspects. If you listen to music I make now and music I make then. There’s a huge difference. If you look at my followers way more than before. If you look at my image I’ve created a solid one for myself. It’s super gratifying and I want things to just continue in that direction and also accelerate.

How many times have you been to Best Of Essex and What would you say the Vibe is like?

A: Best of Essex has to be my favorite event to go to. Only time I’ve missed is if I had a performance of my own I had to do. Or the earlier ones I didn’t know about. It’s something that definitely had a huge effect on my career. The community you feel in that event is unmatched. It’s something so real and genuine that’s difficult to find. So I really love it. Samad has done the Jersey rap community a huge favor by providing a lot of artists with a platform to network, grow, work on performing, and just have a good time.

Who would you say is the Top 5 in your genre and reasons why?

A: So my top 5 is definitely not skill based. I don’t even really look for that in music anymore. It’s just what I enjoy listening too. It’s not even gonna be in order but here goes: Trippie Redd, Isaiah Rashad, Juice Wrld, Frank, & I been bumping a lot of Mac rn of course, R.I.P. but I’m always listening to different music and different artists because I listen for recreation but I also study what they do.

Do you have a job or go to school and how do you balance you’re career and that?

I do have a job @ the mall and I’m looking for another one. & I’m going to go to school part time. I don’t really try to balance tbh. It’s not a good look but that’s how strongly I feel about music. School lately has been a non factor but I’ll always need a job because I’ll always need to

fund my career. It’s just whenever I’m not doing that my mind has an unhealthy fixation on my music.

What projects do you have coming out next?

A: My first official project Places should be releasing in about a month and a half. I’m super excited for that to come out so I can show people what kind of artist I’m becoming.

Make sure you come out this Wednesday night at the Meat Locker in Montclair to catch another epic Best of Essex! Also follow Baby Phace on all platforms @hopoffthiscliff  

www.soundcloud.com/iambabyphace

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundcloud Embed Example

Hoodie High Life yr, leggings ethical next level bitters authentic gluten-free Bushwick Marfa trust fund. Slow-carb 8-bit Helvetica...

20 Myths About Music

Marfa bitters kogi pop-up scenester, forage four loko. Migas biodiesel Odd Future Bushwick, Williamsburg retro cold-pressed plaid...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page