top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

[Music] #SneakerstoHeels Lawand Interview w| Notez

Pop music sweetheart Lawand, (@LawandMusic), is painting the town gold with her infectious new single. The fresh-faced songstress slid onto the music scene late last year, with a combination of upbeat singles and dope covers. As a result the 21 year olds music is a medley of captivating sounds and rhythms. Lawand is creating a niche lane in the music industry by being featured on legendary music platforms such as The Source and indie platforms such as #MusicCrushMondays with @DyeTai of New Yorks Hot 97. Her fans, or “Wander-ers” as the singer affectionately calls them, have surpassed the 50k mark on IG with the help of eye-catching visual campaigns like #SheAintGold. A campaign for her latest single that featured women and girls of all ages beautifully displaying their self-love and empowerment.

Today I caught up with Lawand as she filmed an interview at the famed Stronghold Shop, a fashion and cultural hot spot in the heart of Bloomfield, NJ. Scroll down to see how it unfolded:

This Interview is edited for clarity and length.

All Photos by Bruce Arthur Jr. @MagitheProphet

Notez: So Lawand, what started your love for sneakers?

Lawand: I always liked the way sneakers looked they were just cool. They always had a bunch of designs and they’re really comfortable. So like whenever you just needed something to put on you just got a pair of sneakers!

Notez: What was your first pair of kicks?

Lawand: My mom put me in whatever she felt like putting me, like these little baby Jordans or something. But the first pair of sneakers that I bought with my own money, I got these Nike Air Force Ones, the black and gray ones.

Notez: Okay, that’s actually my first pair pretty crazy.

Lawand: Really? And I had to get them boy’s size.

Notez: That’s the thing about girls, you can wear our sizes and its cool.

Notez: So I gotta ask, sneakers or heels and why?

Lawand: I’d say heels, because I’m really tall, so heels accentuate my height. But it depends on the day but overall I would pick heels. Well If I had to go pick up money from somebody, I’d put my sneaks on.

Notez: Yo if you owe her bread son, you betta pay up !

Lawand: That is the vibe

(Both Laughs)

Notez: How would you describe your style?

Lawand: I would describe it as street/glam because I do like to wear sneakers and heels. So heels is more glam, sneakers is more street and I kinda like to combine the two. I’ll wear heels with a street graphic tee and make it a dress.

Notez: Yeah you have to switch it up on them. I actually like the fact that we both have the pink vibe going right now.

Lawand: On Wednesday’s we wear pink and today is Wednesday!

Notez: What’s your go to kicks?

Lawand: Converse. Yeah, these are actually Converse yea that have a lil fuzz and a lil platform. I love Converse. You can do anything with Converse.

Notez: Obviously the converse they are the kind of go to versatile sneaker. Shout out Chuck Taylor one time.

Lawand: Their stylish, their functional, they cover your ankles if you didn’t put lotion on. You should always put lotion on!

Notez: So when you put that drip on, are you looking for more lifestyle or function?

Lawand: I feel like my lifestyle and my function is style.

Notez: So they coincide its one thing?

Lawand: Yeah so my function is to be stylish. So I gotta put on something that’s fly, like walk out the door and just be fly to death.

Notez: Walk out the door and just take off?

Lawand: Like Red Bull – Wings!

Notez: She’s always on point; you’ll never catch her lacking. So now that you’re becoming a young drip lord do you only go out to the new items or do you still rock some older pieces or you prefer older pieces?

Lawand: I really like old stuff honestly; vintage is really cool to me. I feel like new fashion is all just vintage stuff making a come back. I’m all about the overall look and getting a certain style and feeling across through an outfit. So I don’t think it really matters if it’s old or new.

Notez: Whatever the look requires, that’s what we’re going to do.

Lawand: Yea ‘cause if I already have it in my closet, why would I go out and buy something new! (laughs)

Notez: Alright so I gotta ask you, what you got going on for yourself?

Lawand: I just dropped a music video called Gold.

Notez: Let’s get it!

Lawand: My singles out also called Gold.

Notez: Fire! Go get that! All Platforms!

Lawand: Every platform, all of them! My EP’s coming out in like a couple weeks. We’re having a party that we’re going to do for the EP. So lots going on all the time.

Notez: She’s already saying summer is hers fall back. Nobody’s working harder to her right now in these streets. STAMPED IT! STAMPED IT! LAWAND!

Lawand: What do you have going on? What are you doing?

Notez: Who Me? Honestly I’ve got some really cool things, like I have this interview with this girl Lawand, you feel me. She’s supposed to be here but you know girls ha-ha she’s always late. (laughs)

Lawand: She late! Go get her, ha-ha, go get her. She ain’t never late! (laughs)

Notez: So I got that going on! And this! The Strong store! The Strong Palace! The Drip Factory! What ever you want to call it!

Lawand: The Ice Box! Dripping, Icy! Gotta come through!

Notez: It’s your boy Notez, I want to thank Lawand for pulling up on me today at the strong factory.

Lawand: Thanks for having me

Notez: Today we talked drip; make sure all of you out there, everybody viewing this, and they friends, and they friends friends friends friends! Make sure you use that hashtag #SneakersToHeels and go check out my girl music. Its lit baby!

Watch the interview below and drop a comment to let us know what you think!!!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundcloud Embed Example

Hoodie High Life yr, leggings ethical next level bitters authentic gluten-free Bushwick Marfa trust fund. Slow-carb 8-bit Helvetica...

20 Myths About Music

Marfa bitters kogi pop-up scenester, forage four loko. Migas biodiesel Odd Future Bushwick, Williamsburg retro cold-pressed plaid...

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page