top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

New Music From Lorde Is On The Way

On Tuesday (May 21), Lorde sent out a long newsletter to her fans to inform them about the status of her new music. In the letter she tells us that it “is so f*cking good,” and that she is “truly jazzed” for us to hear it in the near future.

She also took the time out to inform us about how her home country of New Zealand is doing amidst the pandemic, and then went on to to talk about her grief since the passing of her dog Pearl. Pearl’s death last year has had a negative impact on her creative process of making music.

“It was summer, a time of year which is usually so clarifying and special to me, but I was grieving hard for Pearl, carrying it everywhere with me,” she wrote, according to Billboard. “I found a note in my phone from November which said: I eat a grief sandwich / I wear a grief coat / I see a grief film.” Back in November she told fans that her grief had messed with the timetable for her next album, but it appears that the time off has done her some good.

“I started going back to the studio again in December, just for something to do, and to my surprise, good things came out. Happy, playful things,” she continued. “I felt my melodic muscles flexing and strengthening.”

It seems that she also seems to be back in the studio with Jack Antonoff, who collaborated with her on her 2017 album Melodrama. “It flowed. A thing started to take shape. And then, of course, the world shut down,” she shared. “We’re still working away—Jack and I FaceTimed for over an hour this morning going over everything. But it’ll take a while longer.”

She then tells her fans to appreciate the wait because the creative process cannot be rushed.

“Waiting, the thing that felt so pointless and annoying when I was young, is now this kind of delicious activity. In my opinion, the greatest treat I can give you is work that will last ten, twenty, thirty years. And that kind of work takes time. So if you can, I’d like for you to try tuning in to the time spent waiting for something of the highest quality to arrive,” she wrote.

We can only imagine how amazing her next project will be.

Image via @lordestars on Instagram

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundcloud Embed Example

Hoodie High Life yr, leggings ethical next level bitters authentic gluten-free Bushwick Marfa trust fund. Slow-carb 8-bit Helvetica...

20 Myths About Music

Marfa bitters kogi pop-up scenester, forage four loko. Migas biodiesel Odd Future Bushwick, Williamsburg retro cold-pressed plaid...

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page