top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

[NEW RELEASE “BE CAREFUL”] CARDI B IS ACTING DIFFERENT

Listen to the song here:


The first thing I noticed about this song was the cover art. Cardi is shown wearing a completely pink outfit combined with pink fishnets, and a really stylish purple wig. The major issue I have with this, is that it is a rip off from Nicki Minaj. It is actually really obvious that she is copying Nicki Minaj’s Pink Friday. I understand that it is just a color, but you can’t dismiss the cultural significance of Nicki Minaj’s first album that defined her as one of the biggest names in rap. Also after Punk Friday, she released Pink Friday… Roman Reloaded in 2011. Then in 2014, she released The Pinkprint. Pink has been Nicki Minaj’s image for her entire career. Lil Kim even accused Nicki of copying her style. So is this the trend of female rappers? Everyone just copying off of everyone’s success. Cardi could have had a different cover so I don’t know why she would choose to do something that doesn’t set her apart from the crowd.

Next is the song, even though I do like the track it just doesn’t have the star quality that “Bodack Yellow” has. I can imagine this track being on the album but I wouldn’t suspect it to be the main single to tease the album. I also thought “Bartier Cardi” had so much more star power. She should have released the music video before dropping the single.

The feedback has certainly been mixed. Some people think the track has a raw sound that is unlike anything in the industry right now. The track is certainly real. But other people say that they think it is absolute trash and that her singing is horrible. I do agree that she probably should have put someone else on the chorus because singing doesn’t seem to be her strong suit. I expect there to be a remix.

Regardless Cardi is standing behind the track:

But you out here chasing CULO and PUTAS chillin poolside living 1 life’s ,i coulda did what you did to me to you a few times ….I had to put alittle SHPANISH in there — iamcardib (@iamcardib) March 30, 2018

I guess we will all make our final judgements on April 6th. 

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundcloud Embed Example

Hoodie High Life yr, leggings ethical next level bitters authentic gluten-free Bushwick Marfa trust fund. Slow-carb 8-bit Helvetica...

20 Myths About Music

Marfa bitters kogi pop-up scenester, forage four loko. Migas biodiesel Odd Future Bushwick, Williamsburg retro cold-pressed plaid...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page