top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

[NEW RELEASE] LOGIC’S BOBBY TARANTINO II IS OVER REPETITIVE TRASH

Logic just released his new mixtape Bobby Tarantino II on March 9th, 2018. Since Logic was still riding the hype from his massive hit, “1-800-273-8255” I was certain that this mixtape was going to be the next step for Logic. I wanted him to really display his best features on this mixtape to show people that he is a lot more than “1-800-273-8255” which was a primarily pop sounding song.

Logic has had great music prior to that release, like my favorite song, “Nikki” off his first album Under Pressure.

Listen to “Nikki” here:


This is a perfect combination of rap, pop and portrays all his best qualities as a rapper. For Bobby Tarantino II was expecting that songs of this quality would be on the record to show his versatility to all his new fans.

But we didn’t get any of that.

Bobby Tarantino II was a complete letdown and here’s why:

When I sat down to listen to the album, I thought I was listening to the same track over and over again, but then I looked at my phone and realized that six tracks had gone by.

I would say the highlight on this album was, “Overnight” but after this song, each song has the same theme, which waters down this song.

Listen to “Overnight” here:


I am glad that he put out a music video for this song because I feel like it is one of the only ones that would do well commercially. I am not even sure why “44 More” was released before this song, because “44 More” is more of a prolonged freestyle that doesn’t really have a distinct chorus and is easily forgettable.

The second track off this album is, “Contra” which would be a good song if it wasn’t followed by “Overnight” which possesses the exact same theme as “Overnight.”

He raps in “Contra:”

“Yeah I was born at the bottom Everything I’m given now (Yeah, yeah, yeah!) Bitch, I’ve been blowin’ up (Bitch, I’ve been blowin’ up!) Everyone showin’ up, where was you in the beginnin’? I know that they’re showin’ up (Know that they’re showin’ up!) Only come around and fuck with me when the boy winnin'”

We already know that he has been blowing up, didn’t he just say that it didn’t happen overnight?

The third song on the mixtape is entitled, “BoomTrap Protocol” and it is a forgettable track about driving around with your girlfriend and apparently that is a “do or die” situation. Honestly, the track sounds like a Post Malone track.

The fourth track is so bad.

In “Yuck” he raps,

“Can’t nothing stop me, I’m on a roll Always on time ’cause my eyes is on my Rollie-olex I don’t trust nobody, oh no (no, no, no!) I don’t trust nobody, put my homies on the payroll Fuck with me now or you’ll never know (never know!) If you weren’t with me, in the beginning, you get no love My name Bobby Tarantino (Tarantino!) Logic ain’t here right now, leave a message if you want, hoe”

So basically he is still talking about how he is on a roll and how famous he is, which he has already talked about in two other tracks. Also, the voice mail recordings are sort of a rip off from Lil Dicky?

“Indica Badu” is a song about the beauty of smoking weed featuring the one and only Wiz Khalifa. I feel like Logic is trying to be controversial or something but there are SO MANY better songs about smoking to the point where this track that should have been trashed.

The lyrics go,

How creative.

On the next track “Midnight” he raps,

Did anyone on his record label tell him this was extremely repetitive? Other than that the second chorus does shine to save this song.

“Warm It Up” is boring and also repetitive and talks about how great of a rapper he is.

The ninth track, “Wizard of Oz” has to be the biggest creative rip off of the entire album. He completely rips off Travis Scott to the point where there might be a lawsuit.

Listen to the similarities here:

logic: is there any popular rapper left that i can completely copy? logics manager: … travis scott? logic: pic.twitter.com/vTIuxWaOaF — grant (@GrantDaGenius) March 9, 2018


This is completely ridiculous. I wanted to stop playing the entire album after I heard that. But the review must go on.

“State of Emergency” makes me so mad.

Logic raps,

“Ballin’ with my homies now Everybody know me now But they don’t really know me now Yeah, this shit is real life Haters talk shit, but deep down still wonder what it feel like”

Oh my god another song about being famous! My ears are bleeding. Please let the last three tracks be better. Please.

“Wassup” is saved by Big Sean primarily being the sole rapper on this track.

On the second to last track, “Everyday” he raps:

“They say, “Logic, why you do that?” I don’t know, I don’t know Yeah, they used to be like, “Who that?” I don’t know, I don’t know Now they know my name wherever I go Used to think that’s what I wanted, but now, just don’t know”

You guys already know what I’m going to say about this.

The album then ends with the overhyped and also repetitive “44 More” that shouldn’t have been promoted as a single.

Not only is the album extremely repetitive, is rips off almost every popular rapper in the scene including Post Malone, Lil Dicky and Travis Scott. Every track is not entirely different from the other which makes it an extremely forgettable listen. I am a fan of Logic, which is why I am so disappointed with this mixtape. It was crazy to see him go from a moderately popular rapper to complete and utter stardom with “1-800-273-8255” and I wanted him to bring his best qualities to show his new fans his diverse set of skills. This album was supposed to be his time to shine but it doesn’t add ANYTHING to him as an artist. Well, he says that album Logic is different from mixtape Logic, but I just want to hear the Logic I know next time. Yeah, Logic you might be extremely famous now but that means you still have to put out quality work.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundcloud Embed Example

Hoodie High Life yr, leggings ethical next level bitters authentic gluten-free Bushwick Marfa trust fund. Slow-carb 8-bit Helvetica...

20 Myths About Music

Marfa bitters kogi pop-up scenester, forage four loko. Migas biodiesel Odd Future Bushwick, Williamsburg retro cold-pressed plaid...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page