top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

The Best of New Jersey’s Underground Hip-Hop Scene Gather for The Link Up Presented by Sloppy

Last weekend I had the pleasure to attend The Link Up presented by Sloopy Vinyl, where I had the change to experience some of the best performers in the New Jersey Hip-hop scene. Gathering in the upper level of the Hollywood Blue Ribbon Restaurant, in Hillside, NJ, Sloppy Vinyl offers a platform for both upcoming, and veteran artist to perform not only in front of an amazing audience but also for a chance to earn three uninterrupted hours of recording time at the Sloppy Vinyl recording studio, and a placement on Sloppy Vinyl playlist. Each artist must perform 2-3 songs or a 10-minute mix for their set.

Sloppy Vinyl offers not only an amazing opportunity to make your music stand out but also a chance to record in a professional environment, under the Sloppy Vinyl brand.

Before the show started I had a chance to sit down with 100KPak and Pearl before their big performance:

“I am relaxed right now, I like the stage, I like the vibe, I am excited to show them what I got,” said Pak.

So you’re new to the scene, how long have you been at it?

“I’ve been doing this since 2014. Legitimately,” said 100KPak. “My sound, I grew around the time of Big Sean, Wiz Khalifa, [and] Mic Miller…. So I found a lot of lyrics in my stuff. But I also caught that little trap wave early. So I was bouncing around finding my style.”


When it comes to finding her style and voice, Pearl has a more unique way of finding her rhythm:


“I was feeling really good I was nervous with soundcheck,” said Pearl about her time getting ready, but when it comes to her music she knows where it all comes from, “I swear it comes from when I get dressed at home. My outfit, my dress, [if] I look good it pumps me up!!” said Pearl.

Pearl alongside Polo Gotti performed a duet that combined both their unique styles, along with their fun energy. When asked how long they started to perform together, Polo had this to say:

“That was like the first song me and her [Pearl] did together, and then we did a second. I like the vibe so we kept going, me and her [Pearl] have three songs dropping.”

The crowd quickly gathered to watch these performers take the stage, and the atmosphere was out of this world, everyone felt welcome, the crowd cheered welcoming the singers to the stage. One of the performers lighting up the stage was The RealTsunami, here flow and strong stage presence came from knowing that she is always being looked after by her family and loved ones:


“One of my first inspirations is the music, and how it flows out of me, so natural, is like it feels like I was born [with] it… my inspiration is my cousin Shantee, who recently passed,” The RealTsunami continued, “They [family and friend] give me the inspiration to make it litty on the stage, to make it live!”

It wasn’t just the voices of New Jersey that were attracted by the opportunity provided by Sloppy Vinyl. Polo Gotti hailed from Ohio, and I set down with him to see how his passion brought him all the way to Jersey.


“I am from Cleveland, Ohio, so when I came to Jersey I got the vibes, I was like alright my sound is completely different from everyone else.” Polo Gotti continued talking about what made his voice different coming from Ohio. “I am very country so when I came here everybody called me country so I guess how I rap is completely different from everyone else… and [I] can get in a whole different beat, I can change up a lot.”

Representing the Bronx was Sledge Dibiase, a veteran of the game. He took the stage not only as a special guest, but also to promote his first album, the combination of a long journey that he was happy to share with me:


“This is my first album, I dropped mixtapes in the past, I dropped singles, but this is the first full album… We started this thing called Brasco Music, I also have my company T-Reps Forever, we in the come up, everything is coming together, it is looking beautiful.”

That sounds like one heck of a journey.

“Man, I’ve been doing my thing for 10 years or more, I mean taking my thing seriously I would say ten years or more. So for any young artist out there you just have to stick to it, getting better keep improving yourself, keep mastering your craft.”

Sledge Dibiase first full album Fly and Wonderful is coming in March, with the lead single “Alright,” dropping February 18 on all platforms, Spotify, Tidal and anywhere music is available. Keep an eye out.

Shahivioney another twenty-plus year veteran took the stage to show love to the roots.


“It’s been a minute, but this is the spot, Sloppy Vinyl is like headquarters for me,” said Shahivioney.

You have a brand, a website, I see you perform, you have it made, how is it like chasing the dream?

“Chasing the dream you know, trying to make that dream a reality.”

If you want to learn more about Shahivioney, you can find him with his company 5tatentllc.com


There is no doubt The Link Up presented by Sloppy Vinyl is the hottest ticket around for up and coming artists looking to start and make a name for themselves. Not only as a way to get discovered but also as a way to meet other veterans of the game, all chasing the dream.

You can follow all of this artist on Instagram: @pak100k, @americanjawn, @therealtsunami, @polokeepit600, @Sledge_Dibiase, and @Shahivioney (5talentllc.com)

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundcloud Embed Example

Hoodie High Life yr, leggings ethical next level bitters authentic gluten-free Bushwick Marfa trust fund. Slow-carb 8-bit Helvetica...

20 Myths About Music

Marfa bitters kogi pop-up scenester, forage four loko. Migas biodiesel Odd Future Bushwick, Williamsburg retro cold-pressed plaid...

Opmerkingen


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page