top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

THIS SONG RUINED MY DAY

I heard this song on the radio today and it ruined my mood.

Listen to it here:


The song is entitled, “Favorite Color Is Blue” by Robert DeLong and K.Flay. I was surprised to hear this song on the radio because I have never heard of Robert DeLong before. I actually thought it was a Twenty One Pilots song, which I am sure you have heard that I am not a fan of them. Check out my article here.

My biggest critique is that if your song is confused with another artist to the point where someone has to spend twenty plus minutes on Google trying to find it, you are probably doing something wrong as an artist.

Here are the lyrics to this song (and I have highlighted my top picks of the worst lyrics):

Locked up, naked with socks I’m watching the phone ring It’s making me angry It’s making me madMaxed out, minimum wage My brain is a time bomb I’m saying goodbye, Mom I’ll see you again Striking a pose Smiling in photos without any reason With people that I’ll never know I’m out of control, live in a fictional prose I took an oath, it’s killing me though ‘Cause I don’t believe in the things that I do [Chorus]And now my favorite color is blue And now my favorite color is blue And now my favorite [Verse 2]Roped up, rat in a cage I’m having a breakdown Drinking at a playground, tequila for one Too short, walk in the streets, I’m hating my haircut You say that you’re here, but You live on the Sun Burning a kite I’m at a funeral, nothing unusual Baby, I do what I like Looking to fight, smoking a blunt and a pipe Taking a bite, worm in the apple I knew it would happen, ’cause honey the vermin survive Swerve to the side, been driving all night I’m thinking of changing my name, thinking of wrecking a home ‘Cause loving and hating are one and the same And I’m feeling like everyone’s feeling alone I’m just looking for something to soften the blow A second inside of the truth I don’t see red ’cause [Chorus 2]Now my favorite color is blue And now my favorite color is blue And now my favorite color is blue And now my favorite color is blue And now my favorite color is blue [Outro] And now my favorite color is blue And now my favorite color is blue And now my favorite color is blue And now my favorite color is blue And now my favorite color is blue

The chorus of this song is “now my favorite color is blue,” like ok Robert. This is a complete rip off from The Story So Far since their band centers around the concept of the color blue on almost all of their albums.

Check out one of their songs here:


Most people wouldn’t notice because they are in separate genres, but it is just such a creative rip off that the listener can’t ignore. If he didn’t rip off The Story So Far, he just put the most basic cliche in his song. Not only is the song CENTERED around cliches, it tries to relate to the listener on the most basic levels. He discusses saying goodbye to his mom, not liking his minimum wage job, drinking on a playground (who does that?) and did you notice the random lyric about how he hates his haircut?

I passionately hate this song and I hope it doesn’t get any airtime. We have to notice when a song is just a complete lazy rip-off. I don’t know who you are Robert DeLong but I don’t like you.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundcloud Embed Example

Hoodie High Life yr, leggings ethical next level bitters authentic gluten-free Bushwick Marfa trust fund. Slow-carb 8-bit Helvetica...

20 Myths About Music

Marfa bitters kogi pop-up scenester, forage four loko. Migas biodiesel Odd Future Bushwick, Williamsburg retro cold-pressed plaid...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page