top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

BLOWOUT IN BROOKLYN

Last night I was able to get to the Barclay’s Center to see the Islanders play the Washington Capitals with my dad. I grew up on Long Island and have always been a loyal fan, too bad they got spanked. The Capitals ended up winning 7-3. The Isles came out hot and scored first early but it didn’t last long. The Caps scored three times after that in the first and never looked back. The Islanders did control the puck well at times but couldn’t finish a lot of their looks where the Caps seemed to cash in on every opportunity. Christopher Gibbons was pulled from net after allowing 5 goals on twelve shots. Well, at least the offense made it an entertaining game. It was also my first time being in Barclay’s. I’m definitely not a fan. It’s just so different from the Nassau Coliseum, the Islanders old home on Long Island. The Coliseum was old and out-dated but it was affordable, easy to get to, and a great environment. Barclay’s is a hike and a half to get to from the Island and its overpriced. I was able to get good seats (I took the cover photo from my seat during the second period), but there are a few sections that have obstructed views during hockey games. Barclay’s is beautifully modern but you can tell it was designed as a concert venue, not as a hockey arena. The experience only made me even more excited for the plans being laid for a stadium at the Belmont Racetrack. There is more than enough space out there and the Islanders need to come home from Brooklyn and back to their fan base. Capitals fans were drowning out the home crowd with their own cheers. That would never happen at the Coliseum. Being in Brooklyn is a disservice to both the fans and the team. The Islanders belong on Long Island and I can’t wait for it to be that way again.

0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page