top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

WAY TOO EARLY FANTASY FOOTBALL MOCK DRAFT

By no means am I or would I even consider myself an expert in Fantasy football. I am not Matthew Berry, Field Yates, or Mike Clay. I don’t analyze stats or do in-depth analysis as they do. I am just a regular football fan (albeit with 17 years of playing experience through college) that plays fantasy football every year, and not that it means anything, but am consistently in the top 3 of the leagues I play in.

With the NFL draft around the corner, I had this idea to do a “mock draft,” of a team that I would want to construct based on a random draft slot I pulled out of a hat, being 7.

Here is how I am going to write this article…

I am using the current ESPN fantasy football rankings for 2021 that don’t include the rookies that will be drafted in a few days. I am basing my picks off who I think would be left at my pick in each round based on last year’s draft, last year’s season, and what I have heard/read the ESPN fantasy football experts say about each player’s draft stock and position. This is what, at the moment, would be my ideal team.

For some extra fun, I am going to include some of the incoming yet-to-be drafted rookies in this exercise because we all know that at some point in our fantasy drafts this summer they will be picked. Because at the moment I don’t know who they will be drafted by and what their playing time will look like, my analysis and where I think they will be picked could be off.

This is going to be from the perspective of a standard ESPN 10-team 1pt PPR league, and I will give a short analysis of why I chose each player when I did and at the end give you a full overview of my team.

The position slots are as follows

LET THE DRAFT BEGIN. PICK 1 IS ON THE CLOCK…

As expected the first four picks off the board (in no particular order) are McCaffrey, Cook, Henry, Kamara. It can be argued that Barkley and Elliott would also be in the top 6 but coming off an ACL Barkley could slide, and coming off a bad year Elliott could too. However, I don’t see Barkley going past #6, and with Dak coming back I don’t see Elliott siding that much either (definitely not out of the first round). For argument’s sake let’s say that is the top six picks. Now at #7 is my first pick.

AND WITH THE SEVENTH PICK OF THE FIRST ROUND OF THE 2021 WAY TO EARLY SINGLE PERSON EXORCISE MOCK FANTASY FOOTBALL DRAFT…I PICK…

DAVANTE ADAMS

He was the best receiver last year with multiple monster games. 1,374 yards, 115 receptions, and 18 TDs. With Aaron Jones coming back the running game is still intact, and another year with the same system and offensive coordinator for him and Rodgers is going to be great. Now with the disruptions with Rodgers and the team could pose an issue, but I don’t see it as a big enough issue to pass up the best WR in the league (arguably) with the top RBs gone.

With the next five picks, undoubtedly someone is going to pick Mahomes. I always think the first few rounds are too early for QB but it is what it is. The rest of the draft, just like every draft is subjective and differs depending on the thought process of the people involved so these picks could be argued but again this is what I think could happen based on last year. The next four picks are Hill, Diggs, Hopkins. The next best receivers in the league. Aaron Jones or Chubb could go here but for now, they will go in the second round not the bottom of the first.

AND WITH THE THIRD PICK OF THE SECOND ROUND OF THE 2021 WAY TO EARLY SINGLE PERSON EXORCISE MOCK FANTASY FOOTBALL DRAFT…I PICK…

TRAVIS KELCE

You may think this is too early for Kelce but I pick a TE in the second/third round every year because there is such a drop off from the top three that I would rather have a set it and forget it TE than have to figure it out each week based on matchups. Even with Hill on the team, Kelce is a guaranteed 15 points per week and over the last few years has single-handedly won me weeks and leagues (outside of when he sits week 17).

The rest of the second and third rounds are going to see Aaron Jones, Chubb, Jonathan Taylor, Lamar Jackson, Metcalf, Keenan Allen, Michael Thomas, Kyler Murray, Josh Allen, Prescott, Darren Waller, Kittle, Justin Jefferson, and Calvin Ridley. Of course, this is my opinion and based on the top ESPN ranking players but this is probably close to accurate minus Ridley and possibly Allen and Prescott depending on how people feel about QBs this year.

AND WITH THE SEVENTH PICK OF THE THIRD ROUND OF THE 2021 WAY TO EARLY SINGLE PERSON EXORCISE MOCK FANTASY FOOTBALL DRAFT…I PICK…

AMARI COOPER

With Dak coming back I don’t see how he couldn’t bounce back to where he was two years ago. The number one WR in Dallas, even with the emergence of Lamb he is still the one Dak will be looking for.

To streamline this article so it doesn’t get too long-winded and have you lose interest, I am going to give you my picks and explanations.

FOURTH ROUND

MIKE EVANS

There is a very strong possibility he is off the board by this point, and in which case I would go RB and probably James Robinson. But even though Evans had a “down year” last year it was based around the injury and helped by touchdowns. I will take a second year with Brady and his touchdown percentage. This gives me three top 15 WRs and the best TE in the league, with this being a PPR league I don’t see how I could go wrong.

FIFTH ROUND

ANTONIO GIBSON

As with all of the following picks, there is a strong possibility he isn’t here at this point, and in which case I would still go RB and go with Carson or Dobbins. However, for now, I am going with Gibson because of his pass-catching ability. With the upgrade at QB with Fitz now and a possible rookie, they are going to rely on Gibson as the outlet. He is the lead back on a team that doesn’t have a lot of WRs (even with the Curtis Samuel upgrade) so I feel good about this pick.

SIXTH ROUND

DAVID MONTGOMERY

If either Carson or Dobbins is here I may opt for them, but Montgomery is a solid pick to round out my starting skill positions. He may not be in the best offense, but he came on late last year and playing Detroit and Minnesota twice a year, with one of each being in a dome I like his output possibility. Especially with Dalton at QB and only Robinson as the other offensive option on the team.

SEVENTH ROUND

TEE HIGGINS

You may think this will be a stretch or that I should grab a QB, but in a one QB league and with most of the first thought QBs off the board I want to solidify my skill players in case of injury or bad matchups. A second year with Burrow and his production at the end of last year I see him as having the chance to make a big jump. This could be deterred if they draft a WR in which case I would go another way here but I think they may lean towards OL so I think I am good.

EIGHTH ROUND

RONALD JONES

This essentially rounds out my top skills that can be interchanged due to match-ups and injuries. He was up and down last year and lost some time due to fumbles and to a split backfield but I still think he is the lead option in Tampa and a solid option based on his division defensive matchups.

NINTH ROUND

RYAN TANNEHILL

I think he is a very underrated QB and he could be gone at this point, and if so I am staying in skill positions, but I also think by this point someone will take a chance on Trevor so I think he will still be here. Even with the loss of his top TE and number two WR in a run-heavy offense, what he can do with his legs, and how defenses stack the box to stop Henry he is a viable option as a starting QB.

This is the point where I would start thinking about taking some of the rookies to fill out my bench. I have had great luck in the past drafting rookies, stashing them on my bench, and waiting till mid-season when they get acclimated to put them in the lineup. I did it last year with both Jefferson and Robinson and I am not afraid to do the same here.

TENTH ROUND

JAYLEN WADDLE

I am unsure where he might go but it is almost assured it’s going to be in the top 15 more likely top 11. If he goes to the Giants I might be a little hesitant but with the addition of Galladay, he will have time to grow and become productive, as long as Jones can step up as well. Also the fact by this point I think people will take flyers on Chase and Smith he is the best-left choice of rookie WR that can make an impact right away.

* I would pick Pitts but I have Kelce and only needing him for defiantly one week I don’t know if it is necessary to pick another TE at this point. If Chase, Smith, and Waddle are all off the board, I would consider it more because I can play him at the flex, but that would also depend on how training camp and pre-season go for Etienne, Harris, and Williams.

ELEVENTH ROUND

JAVONTE WILLIAMS

He is under the radar because of the national notoriety of Etienne and Harris, but as a Miami fan, I can attest to how good this guy is and can be. It is all going to depend on where he lands but as a fourth RB and rookie to stash on the bench until needed, I would gladly take him and watch him run wild at the end of the season.

TWETH ROUND

HUNTER HENRY

I always pick a backup TE in case of injury and for the bye week or in case of a great matchup as a flex. Henry was a menace for the Chargers and now as what I consider the better of the two TE in New England with a QB that showed he isn’t great at throwing downfield anymore and a team that loves to run two TE sets he is a great choice here coming off a down year and being under the radar in what was considered a terrible offense last year.

THIRTEENTH ROUND

LAVISKA SHENAULT

This is going to fully depend on if he is left on the board and the QB situations in Denver and Jets. It’s almost solidified that the Jets are taking Wilson, who I would have to see how his camp and pre-season go before making a decision. We have no idea who is the QB for Denver, right now it’s Locke but they could draft a rookie, we just don’t know. If Wilson looks solid I might go with Corey Davis here, and if the Denver situation looks solid I might take Jeudy. I would lean towards Davis because he came on last year, will be the number one option for the Jets and I think will have a better season than Jeudy and Shenault but if his QB isn’t ready I would rather the second WR option and third overall option and a guy that had flashes last year. Even with his new QB and coach.

FOURTEENTH ROUND

RASHOD BATEMAN

It’s a toss-up here because we don’t know where any rookie will go at this point. For this pick, I will almost defiantly take a rookie and stash him for the chance he goes off like Jefferson or Robinson did last year (both who helped me get to the championship) but it’s a coin flip on if they will emerge and who will emerge. Bateman has been talked about more but if Toney goes to a better situation or even if Gainwell from Memphis goes to a team where he could split time, I would consider them over Bateman. It’s a toss-up and at this point, I don’t know and am kind of just throwing a name up there for this last pick.

I always leave the last two picks for defense and kicker. They are so finicky that you never know who will have a good year, who will be a complete bust, and who will emerge out of nowhere. Kim as a K last year seemingly came out of nowhere and was a top K that propelled me to never have to think about that position the whole season after picking him up off the waiver wire. I streamlined defenses all year based on match up and it worked most of the year but also almost cost me games down the stretch and was one of the reasons I lost the championship.

No doubt by this point some of the top defenses and kickers will be picked. There is always someone who picks a defense of kicker in the first ten rounds. Why I don’t know but it always happens every year. Sometimes it pans out, like the year the New England defense was as good as an offensive player, and sometimes it doesn’t, like last year when peopled picked New England maybe forgetting their best two players opted out.

FIFTEENTH ROUND

BILLS D/ST

This is a strong unit that was top all last year and under the radar for it. They were a sneaky team that was completely overshadowed by Allen and Diggs each week. Remember they play in a division that has the Jets twice a year, a below-average Patriots team (even with all of the acquisitions this off-season), and a Miami team that was riddled with injuries and a now second-year QB still trying to figure it out. With those guaranteed six games, three of which are in cold weather, I don’t see how this team can repeat what they did last year.

Now if they are off the board which is a good possibility, I would go with the Colts or the Browns. Colts for similar reasons to the Bills, a sneaky good defense that sees Houston twice (who is terrible at the moment and has no QB), Titans twice (who can run, and even though I picked their QB I will take my chances on them being able to stop Henry like they were able to and have a decent game), and Jacksonville (who is in a continuous rebuild with a new QB and coach).

The Browns just added Clowney to go with Garett for possibly the best D-Line in the league. In a division with a spiraling Steelers team, and unable to pass Ravens team, and a non-offensive line having Bengals team, I think they can be a strong unit as well.

SIXTEENTH ROUND

GREG ZUERLEIN

There is no telling what kickers will still be available or what kickers will be viable options. Like most years I may just draft this position because I have to and streamline a kicker each week depending on matchups. Then figure out if there is a sustainable option mid-season that I can set it and forget it unless their offense has a terrible matchup (think about Blankenship until the Colts played an outstanding defense).

Zuerlein in Dallas is a good choice for the draft. Playing for a high octane offense that will play eight games in a dome (unless Jerry opens the roof on a sunny day) and has three outside division games against subpar defenses seems like a good place to start.

So there it is my team…

QB – RYAN TANNEHILL

RB – ANTONIO GIBSON

RB – DAVID MONTGOMERY

WR – DAVANTE ADAMS

WR – AMARI COOPER

TE – TRAVIS KELCE

FLEX – MIKE EVANS

DEF/ST – BILLS D/ST

K – GREG ZUERLEIN

BENCH – TEE HIGGINS

BENCH – RONALD JONES

BENCH – JAYLEN WADDLE

BENCH – JAVONTE WILLIAMS

BENCH – HUNTER HENRY

BENCH – LAVISKA SHENAULT

BENCH – RASHOD BATEMAN

I have a great set of WR that in a PPR league should be able to handle the mid-tier RB options I have for the moment. The best TE in the league is always what I strive for and for another year I got him, and for another year I don’t have to even look at the position except on the bye week. My QB is ok and has the possibility of being replaced at some point if there is a better option. I don’t like using a bench spot for a second QB unless at my pick in later rounds there is one that is too good to pass up (when Rodgers fell to me last year after drafting Allen) but I will add one if need be and I can give away one of the skill position bench spots. I may opt for a rookie QB in the draft if they look good in camp and the pre-season, but most likely I would wait until after the first game or two before making that decision. That decision will also be a little easier based on the fact Trevor is 100% going to be drafted and there is a chance that Wilson and Fields will be too (but this will depend on where Fields gets drafted). That leaves Lance and Jones who both will be drafted by teams that already have QBs so they won’t see the field until later in the year, if at all. But they may be worth the look if they get a chance to play.

My bench leaves a little bit to be desired but who knows what player could fall where and what my options could be in the middle and late rounds. People always take QBs way too early (for my taste) as well as taking defense and kicker in the 8-11 round range which leaves more skill players to fill the bench. I can’t predict this right now, but what I do know is that this will definitely not be my bench in the capacity it stands in this article.

I have no problem with Higgins and Henry. I am not mad at taking a flyer on Waddle or Williams depending on where they land. As for Jones, Bateman, and Shenault I would probably opt for different options depending on who is available, but for now, with where the rankings are, this all coming from my own brain, and the explanations I gave for each pick, are not bad picks but they definitely fit in the category of droppable if need be.

I think my team is in a good position to start the year and with three WR in the top 15 and the top TE in a PPR league I am feeling pretty good. I do account for schedules and gear my picks for who has the better schedule in the last few weeks of the season when the fantasy playoffs are, along with bye weeks, but for this, I didn’t look into that, so for all I know I have several players at the same position with the same bye weeks leaving me ass out those weeks, and some of these players could have the toughest schedules in the fantasy playoffs which could completely screw me if I make it there.

0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page