top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

LINDOR DAZZLES IN HOMECOMING

The MLB traveled to Puerto Rico last night to begin a series down on the island. Baseball runs deep in Puerto Rico and many current players hail from there. The MLB has begun the Puerto Rico series to celebrate the rich baseball heritage and give back to a community that truly loves the game. Cleveland and Minnesota have the honor of playing in the series, and for Indians shortstop Francisco Lindor, that means he gets to go home. Frankie Lindor or “Paquito” is beloved in his home country, especially after he and the Puerto Rican team did so well in the most recent World Baseball Classic. Lindor was beyond excited to play at Hiram Bithorn Stadium in San Juan, and he did not disappoint the packed house that came out to see him. He stepped to the plate in the fifth inning and cracked a 2-run home run to break a scoreless tie. The stadium, the city, hell the whole island erupted and you could probably hear the cheers in Florida. The hometown kid came home and delivered. The Indians would go on to hit 3 more homers and win 6-1. After the game, Lindor explained what it meant for him to be home in many interviews in both English and Spanish. “I’m in Puerto Rico in front of my family, in front of my friends, in front of this beautiful Puerto Rican crowd,” Lindor said. “I’m just excited. I touched second base and looked in the dugout. Everybody’s hands are up, so I put my hands up. I looked around the stadium, everybody’s are up, so I keep putting my hands up and running.” The MLB made its return to Puerto Rico in electric fashion and I’m looking forward to what will come next in this great series.

0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page