top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

[SPORTS] KRISTAPS PORZINGIS: NO TIMETABLE FOR RETURN

Star Big Man May Not Be Ready Before 2019 All-Star Break

Knicks fans may have to wait longer than expected before they can see their beloved big man playing basketball again.

New York Knicks’ forward Kristaps Porzingis, rehabbing from a left knee injury from a season ago, gave an update on Monday regarding his current status.

“Feeling good,” Porzingis said at the New York Knicks NBA Media Day press conference. “Leg is getting stronger … Feeling really, really good. Doing some stuff on the court. [I’m] already shooting, light running so [I’m] making progress everyday. Timetable, there is no timetable yet. We’re moving forward [and] progressing everyday. Whenever I’m ready I’m gonna be back.”

Porzingis tore his ACL in his left knee vs the Milwaukee Bucks back on February 6th. The injury occurred after the Knicks star big man threw down a right handed slam dunk over Bucks’ star Giannis Antetokounmpo three minutes into the second quarter.

Coming down to the ground, Porzingis landed awkwardly on his left leg and tumbled over out of bounds holding his left leg immediately.

He would miss the rest of the season with the injury that often takes athletes 8-12 months to recover from. Porzingis had surgery on his left knee to repair the torn ligament on February 13th a week later.

Some had left open hope that the big man might be able to return in January or February, but with Porzingis saying on Monday that a timetable had not been given, some have began speculating he could miss the entire 2018-19 season.

“I’m hungry and I want to be back on the court as soon as possible,” Porzingis said. “It’s good that I have a good team around me and good people around me that are holding me back when I need to be held back and telling me to be patient.

“It’s been a long process … Already been seven-and-a-half months and obviously I’m getting edgy and I want to be back on the court as soon as possible but it won’t happen until I’m 110 percent and I’m medically cleared.”

Kristaps Porzingis — who was selected with the 4th pick in the 2015 NBA Draft out of Latvia — was having a strong season before his injury occurred.

Porzingis, 23, averaged 22.7 PPG, 6.6 RPG, and 2.4 BPG while shooting 44 percent from the field and 39 percent from beyond he arc.

He was named to his first NBA All-Star appearance last season in just his third NBA season.

The New York Knicks opened training camp on Tuesday and will open their preseason schedule on October 1st vs the Washington Wizards.

What are your thoughts on Kristaps Porzingis possibly missing the 2018-19 season? Leave your comments below!

1 view0 comments

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page