top of page
Writer's pictureFrank Demilt

STEELERS TAG BELL

The Pittsburgh Steelers will place the franchise tag on star running back Le’Veon Bell for the second straight season. This tag will pay Bell $14.5 million this season, the average yearly salary of a running back in today’s league. Bell has previously said he will contemplate retirement if he was tagged again this season and has not backed down from this statement. Bell told ESPN on Monday, “I’m playing for strictly my value to the team. That’s what I’m asking. I don’t think I should settle for anything less than what I’m valued at”. Le’Veon clearly thinks he is worth more than the average back and he has the numbers to back it up. Bell is hands-down one of the most explosive players in the league, let alone at running back, and wants to be compensated as such. I don’t blame him, especially after playing under the tag last year. Bell says he will wait to make his decision on whether or not to play at all and would also consider joining the team during Week 10, which would give him just enough time to qualify for a season accrued. Long-term contract talks continue to stall as the Steelers have not produced a number that Bell believes is big enough. This confused me last year and really blows my mind this year. Pittsburgh, PAY THE DAMN MAN! Bell is the type of player you build championships around and I would want him as happy as possible. You just made Antonio Brown the highest paid receiver in the league last year, now cut the check for his teammate. Lock Le’Veon in and you basically guarantee a top five offense for the rest of their deals. I really hope the Steelers smarten up and get a deal done because I think Bell is serious about sitting out and he is a player that people all over the country look forward to watching on Sundays, including myself.

1 view0 comments

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page